RSS

Started Out So Well–Ended Up So Badly

21 Aug

I worked diligently on the Leaflines Shawlette by Aparna Rolfe Designs.  The design is beautiful.  It is not difficult to stitch but the instructions are very detailed and complex.  Each row is worked differently from the one before.  This is not a project that can be completed while watching television.  I kept my cool and only had to rip out one row when I discovered that I had reverted back to the previous row midway though the instructions.  It’s important to look at your work after each row and to be sure that you are still placing the post stitches on the correct side.  It also helps to highlight your pattern instructions as you progress.

As the shawl grew I was delighted in the result.  When I reached the half-way point at the end of row 39 I still had enough yarn left to work an additional row.  I was sure that I was not going to run out of yarn.  But alas, by the time I was 2 rows from the end, it became clear that my yarn was also nearly at an end.  I was not able to work the last row in double crochet but used up the remainder of my yarn by working a single crochet row.  I did not have enough yarn to finish off the neck edge.  I had ordered my yarn from Knit Picks and had ordered the 2 skeins that were required.  I do not intend to order another skein in a different dye lot to work one row on my shawl.

Of course I combed though my small stash but I never keep lace-weight yarn on hand.  None of the colors were even close.  I’m wondering what my options are at this point.  The neck edge is not nice enough to leave as is.  Perhaps some of you have an idea?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
34 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2012 in crochet, Projects

 

Tags: ,

34 responses to “Started Out So Well–Ended Up So Badly

  1. Lisa W.

    August 21, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Contact Knit Picks and see if they have the yarn with the same dye lot you were using. Believe it or not, I have done this in the past (after a year) and I’ve gotten the exact same dye lot.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 4:49 pm

      Lisa, I think that this is what I will have to do. I don’t want to pay for another skein and shipping just so I can work one row but it seems that I don’t have a choice. The entire project is ruined if I don’t finish it. :(

       
  2. embee from Crochetville

    August 21, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    What a shame! I ran into a similar problem last spring, trying to finish up a shawl to wear to a wedding. Not sure what to do, I simply stopped, ended it, pretty much as you have done.

    Kept looking at it, sad that it was not really complete. Used it anyway at the wedding as it completed my outfit, and nobody said, “Oh, you didn’t finish your shawl!”. ;) Then I gave it to the Thrift Shop, because I was disappointed with it.

    That’s not the solution you’re looking for, is it….

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 7:45 pm

      Embee, that’s exactly the problem! If I finish it with contrasting yarn or leave it unfinished, I can’t give it as a gift and I would never wear it. So the only solution turned out to be that I needed to get more of the same yarn…

       
  3. Thelma

    August 21, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    I’d make a complaint as it looks like the skeins don’t have the length and weight of wool they should and this seems to be coming a common problem and an annoying one when you have such a beautiful item to finish.
    Hopefully they will give you the required wool to finish it.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 7:43 pm

      Now there’s a thought! Thelma, it had occurred to me that one of the skeins was not the correct length. I can’t prove it but it does seem odd that I was right on the money when I reached the half-way point. I’m not sure if it’s worth a fight with Knit Picks though I have ordered another skein hopefully in my dye lot.

       
  4. MoreorLessTiffany

    August 21, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    It is just too beautiful to not get more yarn! It’s worth it, but yuck so frustrating!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 7:40 pm

      You’re right Tiffany. After reading all the comments, that’s exactly what I decided to do!

       
  5. Shirley Valvo

    August 21, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    I think I would look for something just a couple of shades darker for just a touch of contrast. I think that would be acceptable at the neckline.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 7:39 pm

      Shirley, if I can’t get the original yarn in the correct dye lot I think I will go with your suggestion and try a shade darker just at the neckline and leave the row of single crochet at the bottom as is. Thank you for your suggestion.

       
  6. Elaine

    August 21, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    you could do your border in a complementary or contrasting color and add a beading accent to make it look like a deliberate embellishment?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 7:37 pm

      You know what’s funny Elaine? The shawl originally calls for a beaded edge. I had actually considered doing the beads but it took more yarn than I had. Maybe if I get the original dye lot I can still try that. I don’t think the contrasting yarn will work because I am planning to give this shawl to my meditation teacher. She is all about serenity and beautiful shades of violet so I am not sure that another color will work.

       
  7. Charlotte

    August 21, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    That is absolutely beautiful–good job!! If it was mine I’d trim it in black.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 7:34 pm

      Thank you Charlotte! I love the shawl too. I can’t even imagine coming up with such an intricate design!

       
  8. Tez

    August 21, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    It is so lovely! I sure hope it works out to get a new skein….if not, what about a coordinating or even contrasting colour of a locally sourced lace weight?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 7:33 pm

      Thanks Tez. I’m not sure about the contrasting color but I think I will contact Knit Picks to see if they still have the dye lot. It will probably cost another $10 to get another skein and finish it up.

       
  9. chefmomster2@gmail.com

    August 21, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    I don’t think anything so lovely can ever be thought of in terms of “ending up badly”. It is absolutely GORGEOUS, even with singles and an imperfect neck!

    Mary

    Sent from my iPad

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 7:31 pm

      Thank you Mary! I guess if I let it sit a few days I might not be so upset.

       
  10. Mary Sarah Brady

    August 21, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    It’s beautiful! You could use another color, like black, to finish the neck edge and go around the rest of the shawl in sc or reverse sc. It might give it a pop. Just a thought. I think it’s beautiful even you don’t add another stitch, but I know you need to do what will make you happy with it in the end.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 21, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      The neckline doesn’t appear so bad in the photo but it is really uneven and needs to be finished off Mary Sarah. I thought about the contrasting color too. Thanks for your input. :-)

       
  11. dotb

    August 21, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    What about one of those multicolor yarns, or a fuzzy one, or something for contrast? My thought went to a multi because you might find one with a color that is like your main year.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 22, 2012 at 10:12 am

      Dot, I wanted this shawl to be one color only. I was planning to give it to my meditation teacher as a prayer shawl.

       
  12. Jeanmarie

    August 21, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Hope they have the right dye lot. That shawl is so incredibly intricate and beautiful, it would be a real shame if you couldn’t finish it the way you want to (although an ever-so-slightly contrasting color would probably work in a pinch, if it comes to that).

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 22, 2012 at 7:54 am

      That’s what will probably happen Jeanmarie. It was ages ago that I ordered the yarn so I have a feeling that the dye lot has been exhausted by now. I mentioned the fact that the length of the second skein might have been incorrect so we will see if Knit Picks makes an offer to send me a free skein. I doubt it!

       
  13. Nice piece of work

    August 22, 2012 at 12:35 am

    The shawl is really stunning. Whatever you decide to do (even if you have to get a slightly darker shade to finish it off, or add beading), no-one will ever say “gee, you didn’t finish that properly, did you? – I bet you ran out of yarn!!!”. It is still a work of art and, as artists, we have to be flexible :-)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 22, 2012 at 7:52 am

      Yes Jill, a darker yarn would still work. I’m waiting to hear from Knit Picks now. And you are probably right that nobody will notice!

       
  14. Liz Reeves

    August 22, 2012 at 3:37 am

    I feel your pain! This has happened enough times to me that I always buy an extra ball if I am making a special project. If the shawl was for evening wear you could use a glittery gold. silver or purple thread instead.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 22, 2012 at 7:50 am

      Thanks Liz! Next time I will order extra!

       
  15. Carol Slifer

    August 22, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    When that happens to me I use a contrasting color. If you don”t have any of the type of yarn needed see if one of your friends has any. You should have a yarn shop somewhere in your area that may carry what you need. I live in Monroe, NC and there are a number of shops in our area. Hope you find what you need  Carol Slifer  Monroe, NC

    ________________________________

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 22, 2012 at 7:07 pm

      Thanks Carol. I ordered the same dye lot from Knit Picks today. I was amazed that they still had some!

       
  16. LAURA DANSBY

    August 26, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    IF YOU ARE GOING TO GEY RID OF THIS I LOVE IT , MY FaVORITE color!!!! Ill take it off your hands as is… Lol beautiful

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 26, 2012 at 5:52 pm

      Laura, you crack me up! I really wasn’t thinking of getting rid of it! In fact, I ordered another skein of the same dye lot and will be able to finish it soon. It will be a gift for my meditation teacher. Sorry! :-)

       
  17. epalazza135@comcast.net

    September 1, 2012 at 10:59 am

    What a gorgeous color and pattern!  I would pick a color that compliments this main color since you don’t have another skein of yarn that you did the project with and edge the neck and rest of the shawl in a different color.  I am sure you will be able to find a color that you think really compliments the main color and this way your project can get finished and you can enjoy your beautiful work!  Eileen P. :)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      September 1, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      Hi Eileen, thank you for your suggestion! Since I wrote that post I decided to contact KnitPicks to see if they still had the same dye lot available. Even though it had been a long time since I had ordered my yarn, they were still working from the same bin so I ordered another skein. I received it Thursday and I am looking forward to finishing my shawlette once the Labor Day Holiday is behind me. Hopefully I’ll be able to post a photo of the finished project soon!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,980 other followers

