RSS

Wrapping Up Winter

04 May

Palm Beach Shrug

The Palm Beach Shrug is a quick project and uses one of the more economical yarns available, the 16 oz Pound of Love by Lion Brand.  This yarn is acrylic but has a very soft hand.  It works up into a very light and airy garment with an L hook.  And best of all, you can wear it all the time because it is completely washable!

Like the Up-Tempo Vest, this shrug is constructed from two long strips that are then seamed up the back and sides.  This time I added a shawl collar but you can omit the collar if you like.  You can also make the shrug longer or shorter.  Just make your strips longer or shorter!

Even in Palm Beach, the weather sometimes turns cool at night.  It’s nice to have something lightweight and soft to throw over your shoulders.  Actually, I was in Palm Beach when I developed this pattern, hence the name.

Palm Beach Shrug e

 
49 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in crochet, Projects

 

Tags: , , ,

49 responses to “Wrapping Up Winter

  1. Jeanmarie

    May 4, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Wish I was wearing one right now — looks so soft and light. I’m definitely queuing up this one! Thanks, Carol!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      May 4, 2012 at 3:25 pm

      Lol, you must be in a cool climate Jeanmarie! It’s 80 degrees around here today and I’m happy to be finishing these winter projects. This shrug is very light and drapes nicely too. I’m looking forward to wearing it in the fall!

       
      • Reina Magedman

        October 7, 2014 at 1:34 am

        Hi I am a size small..how would I adapt it to that size..bust very small..5’1/2 too
        xstitcherlv@embarqmail.com…..reinaknits..las vegas

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        October 7, 2014 at 4:42 am

        Hi Reina, this post on my blog explains how to make a vest like this in any size. Good luck!

         
  2. EL

    May 4, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Elegant! Bravo to you for using an inexpensive yarn – cleverly with a larger hook.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      May 4, 2012 at 3:20 pm

      Thanks El! I think I’m about done with making sweaters now. Just that pesky autumn rose cardigan to finish and I think I’ll take a break for the summer!

       
  3. Wendy Geoghan

    May 4, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    This is really pretty!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      May 5, 2012 at 5:08 am

      Thank you Wendy!

       
  4. dj

    May 4, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    you have done another amazing project. this time i dare say…i am going to make actually for myself. yes sounds almost selfish but i must have this one for myself. i feel almost giddy over this one. thank you thank you

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      May 5, 2012 at 5:07 am

      I’d love to see it when you are done!

       
  5. Izzy

    May 5, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Your work is amazing!! I have been sitting here for several hours admiring all your patterns and finished projects. I am a newbie & I don’t always understand what the written patterns mean, but I can always find a good tutorial on Youtube to help me out :) Thank you so much for taking the time to sharing your patterns and finished projects with us!!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      May 6, 2012 at 5:11 am

      Why Izzy, what a nice comment! You know, the only way to learn how to follow a pattern is to dive in and try to make a simple project. The abreviations are exactly as they seem, sc for single crochet, dc for double crochet, etc. A pattern will usually explain what an unfamiliar abreviation is. It takes no time at all to get comfortable with reading a pattern.

       
  6. jd wolfe

    May 5, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    this is a beautiful shrug, but i have a question. can’t tell from the pix. is it a shawl or is it more like a cap sleeve cardigan – does it have a back that is the same length as the front? most of the time it seems like the term shrug is used for a garment that just covers the sleeves and runs across the shoulder line to connect. yours looks more like a cap sleeve cardigan to me. fingers crossed that it is!
    thanks,
    jd in st louis

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      May 6, 2012 at 5:08 am

      jd, this is definitely a cap-sleeve cardigan type shrug. I called it a shrug because it is so loose. The back goes all the way down like a sweater. But the armholes are very large and open. Of course you can make them as large or small as you like.

       
  7. Gail

    May 18, 2012 at 12:43 am

    Hi…just love this pattern but am a little confused where it says to switch to M and then switch to L…do you mean this as the hook size to use…

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      May 18, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      Gail, this pattern has been revised. The new version (d ) is on my blog and on Ravelry. Please print off a new copy. Sorry!

       
  8. Tamara

    June 18, 2012 at 11:32 am

    Love love love this pattern – can’t wait to make one for myself! I included a link to this page on my blog this morning, just had to share! http://bit.ly/LwQgpd

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      June 19, 2012 at 9:12 am

      Thank you Tamera!

       
  9. Cynthia apfelbaum

    June 20, 2012 at 10:06 am

    Love this pattern, but you lost me at “switch to M. And switch to L. Are these needle sizes, or shorthand for something else? You only listed a K hook. Please advise.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      June 20, 2012 at 5:41 pm

      Cynthia, I’m sorry but the Palm Beach Shrug pattern has been revised several times. Please go to the free clothing patterns section at the top of my blog and download the revised version (e). Ravelry also has the link to the revised pattern. M and L are hook sizes. When you are making the ribbing at each end of your strip, you will switch to the smaller hook and then back to larger one when you are working the body. I’m sorry about the errors. I think I must have been out in the sun too long at Palm Beach when I was writing that pattern! It should be correct now.

       
  10. jd wolfe

    June 22, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Carol,
    I have become a fan of your work. I’ve just written an article featuring your designs that will publish on my blog on June 24, 2012. Hope you’ll take a look.

    http://crochet.craftgossip.com

    jd in st louis

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      June 22, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      Why thank you jd. I most certainly will look! I feel honored that you would choose to feature me on your blog. :-)

       
  11. LindaKnitsNJ

    August 1, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    Carol – I just started this pattern. I’m using Paton’s Classic Wool. When I started the second row, I decided to see how I was coming along because I’m short, and I thought I might not need the 106 stitches. WOW! My initial chain is 43 inches long! I’m getting 9 HDC’s to 4″, so I would need to change the “M” hook to an “N”, but even with that change, this thing is going to reach my knees! So my question is this: I’m assuming that we are working vertically, correct? If so, shouldn’t I measure from my shoulder seam down my back to the point where I’d like the shrug to end, and then crochet enough chains to accomplish this?
    Also, what is your opinion about using the wool?
    Thanks!
    Linda

     
    • LindaKnitsNJ

      August 1, 2012 at 4:30 pm

      Carol,
      Sorry. After I wrote the above post, I realized that the rectangle starts at the front, and goes up and OVER the shoulder to the back. OOPS!

       
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 1, 2012 at 4:30 pm

      Hi Linda,

      Your starting chain is so long because it has to be TWICE the measurement from the shoulder to the hem. The reason for this is that you are working on both the front and the back at the same time. When you fold your piece in half crosswise, the fold will be at your shoulder and the fabric will hang down in the front and in the back. After you finish the second strip, you will seam both strips together at the back to the neck and at the sides to the armholes leaving the fronts open. If you are short, you can certainly reduce the length of your starting chain. Simply measure from your shoulder to your desired hemline and double the result. Then do a calculation based on your gauge to determine how many chains to make. I hope this has been helpful. :-)

       
  12. Linda

    September 12, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Which hook did you use for the collar? I couldn’t find that info in the pattern. I just have to do the seams yet and then I will do the collar. Am I reading it correctly that the collar is done BLO? I had some Plush yarn from ages ago that’s been discontinued and it is beautiful with this pattern.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      September 12, 2012 at 11:50 am

      Hi Linda, you’re right, I didn’t mention the hook for the collar. You will use hook M, the same one you used for the body. The smaller hook is only for the ribbing. Only the first row of the collar is done in BLO so that it will lay flat aginst the body of the sweater.

       
  13. Linda

    September 12, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Thank you Carol. I’m glad I asked, especially about the BLO or I would have done it wrong. I saw this same style in a store yesterday only knitted. Thank you for the great pattern!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      September 12, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      I hope you have good success with it Linda!

       
  14. Jen

    January 27, 2013 at 11:26 am

    when it says bust size is 48″, dumb question….does that mean your bra size is a 48? I’m making this, and your strip is 12″ for a 48″ bust size. I know you said to do it 1/4 the size of the bust size. I wear a women’s size 6 in clothing, and my bras are size 34 or 36C. Suggestions? Hopefully today so I can finish! THANK YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 27, 2013 at 12:04 pm

      Jen, The size is the finished measurement around the chest. If you want it to fit over a t-shirt or sweater, you must decide how big you want to have it. Normal ease for a vest or jacket is about 4″ more than the bra size so you would make yours 38″ or 40″ around. Or you can make it smaller, it’s up to you. If you want to make it 40″ around, you devide by 4 and make two panels that are 10″ each. That way you have 20″ across the front and 20″ across the back because you will be folding your strips in half crosswise to make a front and back. I hope this helps!

       
  15. Linda Lee

    April 4, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    I just came across this beautiful pattern last week. Here’s my confusion. I followed the joining of the back seam to 20 inches. I measured off the 20 inches with a tape measure, but after assembling the entire piece, I found that the back of the garment was higher than the front. I don’t know where I went wrong?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      April 4, 2013 at 12:54 pm

      Linda, I’m not sure what you mean by that. Let me tell you what should be happening. If you fold your two strips in half crosswise, the back seam should be sewn in such a way that you are leaving several inches unjoined below the fold. This is necessary because the unjoined portion functions as your back neckline. If you do not have this scenario, then undo a couple of inches of your seam. You must have this opening to enable your shrug to hang on your shoulders properly. I hope this has answered your question. If not, please write back again. :-)

       
      • Linda Lee

        April 8, 2013 at 1:34 pm

        Thank you for your reply. Let me see if I can explain this better. Once I am done making the two strips, I’m suppose to lay the strips flat on a table and whip stitch the back seam to the 20″ mark. The problem I had the first two times is that the back was not even with the front. I am going to try it again and if it still comes out the same way, I will send another reply.

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        April 8, 2013 at 6:21 pm

        Linda, do you mean that one strip is longer than the other? You are folding each strip in half. One half is one side of the back and the other half will be one side of the front. They have to be the same length! If I had my scanner here I could send you a diagram but I am traveling on vacation so I don’t have a way to do that.

         
  16. Karen White

    April 22, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    this is a very easy pattern to follow! I read the comments and found what I needed – which hook to use for the collar; another easy find. I am making this for a cousin in Kentucky. Thanks for such a great pattern!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      April 23, 2013 at 6:36 am

      Thank you Karen! I like this pattern too. It is easy to adapt to your own size and works up really fast when you use a big hook.

       
  17. Christy S

    June 4, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    I have admired your work so often, but I’ve never had much luck with ‘wearables’. This sounds like one I should be able to manage, so I’m giving it a go. I love the yarn you chose for this and have the first strip about half done. I noticed that it’s really loose though and was afraid it might get easily snagged so thought I should check the gauge. I’m close enough to 4″ with 8 hdc – but the pattern says 12 rows equal 4 inches and on my work, it’s more like 8 rows (instead of 12). I guess it shouldn’t really matter as long as I get to 12 inches for each strip? If I need to start over tho, I’d rather do it before I get farther along.

    Another question – in my work, there’s very little difference between the look of the ribbing and the main body, but in your picture I can see it much better. Did you do the ribbing and body BOTH with hdc – or is the ribbing to be sc?

    Again, I love your patterns and appreciate that you offer them for free AND even give advice! Thanks so much. :-)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      June 5, 2013 at 5:07 am

      Christy, To make this pattern you can really use any yarn or hook size that you like. The only other requirement is that you make 2 strips, each of which measure 44″ X 12″. I used the worsted weight yarn and an L hook because it worked up fast. You are correct about the gauge. It doesn’t matter! You are working to measurements so you just need to be sure that your pieces have the correct measurement!

      The ribbing and the body are both done with HDC. It should be somewhat noticeable because you went down to a smaller hook for the ribbing. The difference is suble. I wish you good luck with this! Maybe when you have finished it you will try it again with a smaller hook. There are many possibilities here!

       
  18. Barbara

    July 2, 2013 at 11:06 am

    Love the Palm Beach shrug, but how in the heck and I donwload it? Does not seem to open.
    Thanks for help

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      July 3, 2013 at 9:56 am

      Hi Barbara, If you hover over the center bottom portion of the page, PDF options will appear and one of them is for printing.

       
  19. Chris

    September 8, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    so where’s the “free pattern”?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      September 8, 2013 at 6:22 pm

      The link is at the end of the post: Palm Beach Shrug e.

       
  20. Patsy Floyd

    September 11, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    Just what I have been wanting, love the longer length. I love it ty so much

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      September 11, 2013 at 1:04 pm

      Thank you Patsy! Good luck with it!

       
  21. Shalini

    November 19, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    Hi carol, I love the shrug, planning to make in 2 sizes S & 2XL but wanted check if i will be able to make it with fingering weight yarn ?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      November 19, 2013 at 7:40 pm

      Yes Shalini, you can make this pattern with any yarn and any hook as long as you work to the measurements.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,997 other followers

