RSS

Steamed Chocolate

08 Mar

Steamed Chocolate Shoulderette

This little shawl got its name in a very funny way.  As I was holding the steam iron above the fabric to block it, a very distinct odor of chocolate began to tickle my nostrils.  The more I blocked and steamed, the more intense the aroma became until I thought I had stepped into the Hershey’s factory!

I tried to recall where I had purchased this fingering weight cotton and remembered that in 2008 Paul and I had just spent 2 weeks at the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone Park.  We were headed across Wyoming and in a small western town, spotted a lonely little yarn shop.  The ladies in the shop offered hand-spun and hand-dyed cotton yarn but all of it was light brown.  Light brown is not my favorite color but the yarn was on sale and the shop ladies assured me that it was entirely natural.  The shop also carried buttons made from sliced deer antlers that had been shed naturally. I purchased a few cards of buttons and some of the hand-spun, hand-dyed cotton.  Do you suppose the cotton had been dyed with cocoa?

Years later, here I am finally using this natural cotton.  I must say that the aroma of the fabric somewhat compensated for the color.  My little shoulderette turned out great and will look even better in another color!  So have at it crocheters!  I must warn you that this pattern is written for the advanced crochet fiend.  If you don’t enjoy triples and double-triples or bobbles, or if you hate to do the crab stitch then don’t bother with this pattern.  On the other hand, there’s nothing hard about this design.  It’s just a plain rectangle!

Steamed Chocolate3  pdf Pattern

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2012 in crochet, Projects

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Steamed Chocolate

  1. Janice Nelson

    March 12, 2012 at 2:04 am

    I love this shawl. I can’t wait to make it. I have been so encouraged since I started getting your email. I have made 3 shawls, and a few other items….thank you for all that you do for all of us.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 12, 2012 at 4:31 am

      Janice, I’m so happy that you feel that way. Working on a crochet project fuels your creativity and adds balance to life. I hope to see you visit often! :-)

       
  2. Brenda Russell

    June 23, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    How yummy – er, lovely – this looks! It may go to Disney World with me. Thanks!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      June 24, 2012 at 8:33 am

      It’s a nice project for warm weather–not too heavy. Have fun at Disney!

       
  3. Mary Mahan

    June 25, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Nice shaw – like the lacy patternl! I am making this for a friend to give as a gift.
    I was working the pattern and think I found an error on Row 2. The single * should be before “4dc into next ch” (instead of “ch 3″) or there are not 6 dc to sk on Row 3.

     
  4. Mary Mahan

    June 25, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    Sorry – checked it again – the error is on Row 1. The single * should be before “sk 4 ch” not ch 3.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      June 26, 2012 at 8:14 am

      Thank you Mary! Going over to make the correction.

       
  5. Hannet

    December 8, 2012 at 7:57 am

    Lovely colour, lovely story! And the pattern is just what I needed. Will let you know how it turns out. Thanks for your sharing the pattern. Baie dankie, ek waardeer dit, en ek gaan dit geniet

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 8, 2012 at 8:51 am

      Thank you Hannet and I hope that you do enjoy it!

       
  6. Deborah

    January 9, 2013 at 1:26 am

    I am really impressed with the way you wrote the directions! Clear, spacious and easy to read. Thank you!! I will be making this shawl in the future for sure!!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 9, 2013 at 9:28 am

      Thank you Deborah. I hope that my patterns are clear for everyone to follow. Good luck with this project and let me know if you have any questions as you go.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,972 other followers

