RSS

Mein Hut

04 Mar

Mein Hut (My Hat)

Spring is here and it is time to consider the sun hat. Thanks to my wonderful dermatologist, I am now an avid user of RetinA, a skin cream that minimizes wrinkles and completely replaces your old skin cells. It actually repairs sun damage and makes your face look smoother and younger. RetinA also makes skin more sensitive to the sun so I must now disgard my old habit of letting my face acquire a tan in the summer.

My little hat started out as the Elegant Hat by Kim Guzman. I had a problem hitting gauge on this pattern because my stitches are always very short in height so my row gauge was way off.  When you are making a hat, you must be sure to hit gauge on rows as well as on stitches per inch.  After some consultation with Kim about the gauge, I decided to postpone making this pattern until I had worked out the gauge issues.  I think that I will eventually end up making the hat in half-double crochet instead of single crochet.

But this left me without a hat to make. So as with most things crochet, I decided to make my own pattern.  I switched from Caron Simply Soft to a silk/cotton blend that I had on hand from another project.  This yarn is very sturdy and makes a fine hat.  I also decided to double my strands so that I’d have a stiff hat, not one that is soft and floppy.  The hat band functions somewhat as a size-adjuster.  You can tighten it slightly to take the hat from a size 21″ to 22  without wrinkling the fabric. You can still fold this hat up and put it into your tote or backpack.  If you cannot get the yarn that I used in the pattern, I would recommend a nice stiff  cotton such as Reynolds Saucy Sport.  You will also be starting your hat with a magic circle.  This is an easy little technique to use when you are working in the round.  If you prefer your method, then by all means, use that.

Mein Hut b  PDF Pattern

 
28 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in crochet, Projects

 

Tags: , , , , ,

28 responses to “Mein Hut

  1. Wendy Geoghan

    March 4, 2012 at 10:03 am

    That is a very pretty hat! I tried to make the “Elegant Hat” a few years ago, when I just started to crochet and gave up. May take another run at it. I like the idea of a cotton blend for summer. Something else to add to the list. At least I always have something to do!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 4, 2012 at 11:23 am

      Thanks Wendy. I’m not good at working in the round so this hat is just done in a spiral. As for the Elegant Hat, I’m sure you would be much better at making it now that you have some crochet experience under your belt.

       
  2. Beverooni

    March 4, 2012 at 11:40 am

    How did you know I needed a new pattern? My sister has asked me to make a hat for a friend with cancer and wanted something like this. It is PERFECT! Thanks so much.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 4, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      That’s great Bev! Be sure to tell me if you find any problems with the pattern. I’ve found that it’s hard to find hat patterns with a nice brim. They may not be in style right now but the cloche and bucket styles do not suit me at all! They make my head look like a Q ball! So have a go at it and post it on Ravelry when you’re done so that I can see it. :-)

       
  3. DMW

    March 4, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    Hi! I am a “new convert” to crocheting and I just LUV it! However……I stay away from anything to do with cotton for two reasons……1. It shrinks and 2. It is NOT warm. SO…..the question I have to ask of you IS…..can I reasonably use two strands of worsted weight yarn, ie. I Love This Yarn (Hobby Lobby) or something like Red Heart yarn and if so, do I use two strands together or just one strand? If NOT, WHY won’t you go back to “the drawing board” and “go figure” out the gauge for this hat using worsted weight yarn? MOST people DO NOT use or REFUSE to use anything like cotton and stick to what MOST crocheters use……worsted weight yarns!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 4, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      Hi DMW, thank you for looking at my pattern. The reason I used cotton yarn for this hat is because I believe that summer hats are cooler in cotton. If the hat must be washed, it can be rinsed out in cold water to avoid shrinkage. I would not recommend using 2 strands of regular worsted weight yarn for this hat because I am sure that you will not hit gauge. However, Caron Simply Soft acts a lot like DK yarn. If you would like to make a winter hat then you might try holding 2 strands of Simply Soft together to get gauge. I wanted a fairly firm, not floppy, hat for this design and that is the reason behind using the two strands together. Sometimes the brim of a hat just won’t hold up with one strand.

      As for going back to the drawing board (and you don’t have to shout), I am a designer who enjoys working with many different kinds of yarn weight and different textures. After you have been crocheting for a while, you will find that most designers do not stick to worsted weight yarn exclusively. I offer my patterns for free to anyone who is interested in making one of the projects that I enjoyed creating for myself. If someone does not like the yarn I chose or the design I came up with, there are a lot of other free and commercial patterns out there from which to choose.

       
  4. Sharon

    March 4, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Love your hat and the name you gave it. The name reminds me of a song in German my husband sang once night when he celebrated with his German relatives. It went something like this “Mein Hut hat drei Ecken, drei Ecken hat meinen Hut!” I made the Elegant hat and it does seem to run small–sized more for a ‘tween.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 5, 2012 at 9:38 am

      Yes Sharon, you are right about that song. I am an immigrant from Germany and my family was singing that song ever since I can remember. Every once in a while the German in me has to break out!

       
  5. CelticRose

    March 4, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    What a cute hat!

    Thanks for the idea on how to make a hat brim stiff rather than floppy. I’ve been meaning to make myself a hat to keep the AZ sun out of my eyes and it never occurred to me to simply use 2 strands to make a stiff fabric. *smacks forehead*

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 5, 2012 at 9:35 am

      Celtic Rose, you’re welcome! I hope you make your hat to keep that AZ sun away. BTW, I’ve been to AZ several times and there hasn’t been a place there that I didn’t love! Hope to go back. :-)

       
  6. Joy

    March 4, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    Carol,
    I just took a look at your pattern and plan to work it up for Summer. Love the magic ring and working in a spiral, but will have to adjust the size a bit. Ignore the shouty poster, silk/cotton is much better for Summer, acrylic yarn is much too floppy and it doesn’t breathe. Who wants to sweat through a hat? Besides, if she really wants to use that nasty Red Heart stuff, she can figure out the gauge on her own. Thanks for the free pattern. The pictures are great and I appreciate all of your hard work.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 5, 2012 at 9:34 am

      Thank you for the compliments Joy! I hope you have good luck with the hat pattern.

       
  7. Jeanmarie

    March 5, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    Love this hat! The “belt” is such a neat idea and the fact that you can fold it up to carry along without ruining the shape is great. I’m also one of those people who feels more comfortable with a brim. Very much looking forward to making one of these, and really appreciate your generosity in posting such great patterns for free.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 5, 2012 at 3:58 pm

      Good Jeanmarie! So I’m not the only one who doesn’t really like those close-fitting “flapper” hats. Anyway, during the summer you need some air circulating, not to mention a nice brim to keep that sun at bay!

       
  8. Cj

    March 7, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    I am definitely going to have to make one of those. I really like the belt accent you added too.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 7, 2012 at 8:21 pm

      Thank you Cj!

       
  9. Jeanie

    March 7, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    Hello,
    This is the best looking hat pattern I’ve seen! and I’ve been looking for one!
    I do crochet and knit but was wondering what would you charge for making
    me this hat? I’d want a summer color, maybe yellow in a 21″ head size.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 8, 2012 at 7:35 am

      Jeanie, Thank you for being so enthusiastic about my pattern. However, my main interest is in the design process and I generally don’t make multiple items from my patterns. You might try a local yarn shop. Many in my area will make items for customers because the shop ladies enjoy having a project to work on while they are not busy in the shop. Give this a try!

       
  10. J. G. Burdette

    March 31, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    I’ll have to give this pattern a try. It’s unusual in comparison to other hats I’ve been looking at. Very professional ;)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 31, 2012 at 4:27 pm

      Thank you!

       
  11. Cynthia

    June 11, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    So, so cute. Thank you for the pattern. I started crocheting the pattern. I got to the row of sc 5, 2sc in next sc and it didn’t work out to 48 stitches. A sc 4, sc 2 row in next sc comes out to 48. Thanks again.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      June 11, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      Thank you Cynthia for calling this error to my attention. I have corrected the pattern on Wolf Crochet and on Ravelry.

       
  12. Lauren

    August 22, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    What a cute pattern! My mom asked me to make this hat for a coworker of hers who is going through chemo. We decided to use a softer yarn (Loops and Threads Country Loom, which I hate working with, but I felt cotton would have been too harsh), and I was surprised to find that I got the same guage using a size K hook. I didn’t add the band or buckle, so it was very plain when I finished, but I figured she would have fun accessorizing it herself. I hear she loves it, and was getting compliments all day. People even wanted to know where she bought it from! This is definately a success in my book, thanks so much!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 23, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      Hi Lauren, I had to look that yarn up as I had never worked with it myself. It was a good idea to choose a bulky yarn. I’m happy that the gauge worked out because gauge can be tricky! And how great for your mom’s friend that the hat was such a success! Thank you for sharing this story with me. I love knowing that one of my patterns was helpful in this way. :-)

       
  13. anna

    June 21, 2013 at 4:30 am

    ciao,vorrei realizzare questo cappello ma non so l’inglese saresti cosi gentile la tradurre in italiano grazie mille

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      June 21, 2013 at 8:12 am

      Mi dispiace ma non so come tradurre un modello in italiano. Potete provare ad usare il computer per tradurre da soli.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,976 other followers

