RSS

My “Stained Glass” Scrap Afghan

27 Feb

Okay, I have to be honest, I am proud of this afghan!  It turned out so much better than I anticipated when I started it.  I had such a strange conglomeration of colors that I was concerned it would look like a mess.  Happily, the black yarn offers enough division to keep the colors from running together and to really make them pop.  I had to go out and buy 2 skeins of Red Heart Super Saver in black.  The remainder of the yarn scraps were all either worsted acrylic or wool. ( I know, I know, I shouldn’t have mixed them but I wanted to use up those scraps!)  I also ended up doubling the Caron Simply Soft because it was too thin.  I cut the individual colors after I was finished with them but I carried the black yarn along the side and then simply crocheted over it when making the edging.  The other yarn tails all had to be woven into the work but in the end I believe it was worth the trouble.   This is one beautiful afghan!   Oh, the pattern is here.  Obviously, Kim Guzman only used two colors when making her version but you can actually use any colors you like.

 
46 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in crochet, Projects

 

Tags: , , ,

46 responses to “My “Stained Glass” Scrap Afghan

  1. Wendy Geoghan

    February 27, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    Just beautiful! Makes me think differently about all my scrap yarn. Hmmmmmm…….

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 27, 2012 at 8:02 pm

      Definitely worth trying one of these Wendy. And it was very easy too!

       
  2. ArtEC

    February 27, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    A great job, I will try to do it.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 28, 2012 at 9:23 am

      Very easy ArtEC! Just single, half-double, double, and triple crochet.

       
  3. Beverooni

    February 27, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    Love love love it!!!!!!!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 28, 2012 at 9:22 am

      Thank you Bev!

       
  4. Yvette

    February 27, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    The throw turned out very well. I like how you adapted it to be a stained glass item. I don’t think I would’ve thought of that when viewing the pattern (thanks for providing the link too!). I saved the pattern since I too have a ton of random yarns and colors. hmmmm….could be interesting.
    Thanks again.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 28, 2012 at 9:22 am

      Yvette, this was not an original idea of mine. I had seen other folks do similar afghans by using the black yarn to set off the colors. I just chose a free pattern that I thought I could work with!

       
  5. Dorothy

    February 28, 2012 at 12:28 am

    That is gorgeous and what a great way to use up all your yarn.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 28, 2012 at 9:20 am

      Dorothy, thank you but would you believe I STILL have yarn?!

       
      • CelticRose

        March 2, 2012 at 6:33 am

        I would! I’ve still got yarn after finishing my latest scrap afghan. Not to mention 5 more afghans in various stages of completion and the scraps that will be left over from those. I’ll finish them all one of these years.

        Love your afghan. Nice color palette.

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        March 2, 2012 at 7:09 am

        TY Celtic Rose! I think I’ll wait until I have a better mix of colors. I’ve used up a lot of those scraps!

         
  6. Shirley Cates in AR

    February 28, 2012 at 7:48 am

    Absolutely gorgeous. You did a beautiful job. Thanks for sharing.
    Shirley in AR

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 28, 2012 at 9:20 am

      Thank you Shirley!

       
  7. Eileen

    February 28, 2012 at 7:50 am

    Wow! This is stunning! Your colors are gorgeous. Nice work.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 28, 2012 at 9:19 am

      Thank you Eileen!

       
  8. Sharon

    February 28, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Very pretty!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 28, 2012 at 4:29 pm

      TY Sharon!

       
  9. monica

    April 5, 2012 at 2:53 am

    I’m having trouble understanding row 5. Can you help me?
    Thanks, Monica

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      April 5, 2012 at 3:56 am

      Hi Monica! Do you mean row 5 of the Steamwave Throw? In row 5 you are going to work a row of all single crochet except when you get to the chain spaces from the rows before. When you get to the chain spaces you will work two double crochet crossed over each other and you will work them into the skipped stitches from 3 rows below. So what you have will be: 4 sc, then a dc worked into the 2nd skipped st 3 rows below, a dc worked into the 1st skipped st 3 rows below. then more scs. As you are working the dc’s you are actually overlapping and covering up the chains from the previous 2 rows. I hope this is clear. I’m on vacation so I can’t scan a drawing for you. Sorry!

       
      • Monica

        April 19, 2012 at 8:43 am

        thank you…i think i understand it aliitle better when say crossed over each other like the criss cross method …right. I have that project on hold right now but im bring it out now that i got it. Thank you.Monica

         
  10. Laina

    July 21, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    So beautiful!!! ~! I love your work.~ You’re an inspiration.

    I have a question. I’d love to make a sweater of yours, but my bust size is only a 34. Do you have any tips as to how to downsize your sweater patterns? Thanks!!!

    Also, thanks for sharing your beautiful work and patterns with us.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      July 22, 2012 at 4:51 am

      I’m sorry Laina, I’ve never learned how to design for different sizes. From what I have read, it is tedious and very time-consuming. Why don’t you try to make one to your measurements? After all, you have your model right there! The important thing will be to have an accurate gauge so that you can figure out how many stitches and rows you need per inch.

       
  11. Elena

    August 31, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Nice pattern. How many ounces of yarn to make a colored row? If I did the border color as beige, how do you thnk it would look?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      September 1, 2012 at 5:24 am

      Elena, thank you for asking but I really don’t know the answer to that! All I know is that I started out with lots of left-over yarn and had hardly made a dent in it by the time I finished the afghan. As far as the border goes, if you don’t have enough black left, I would suggest that you go buy some more. The whole point of a stained-glass look is to make it appear as if the black yarn is the lead between the panes of colored glass. I’m not sure that beige will give the effect you want. I had to do exactly that. I ran out of black (I don’t really use it much) and went to WalMart to buy a few more skeins. The Red Heart yarn is not very expensive and you can wash it.

       
  12. Barbara

    December 19, 2012 at 9:03 am

    This is my all time favorite afghan pattern. I have made at 7 of them and am currently working on one as a wedding gift. Thanks so much for sharing this pattern!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 19, 2012 at 9:38 am

      Oh my goodness Brabara! Seven! Now that’s putting a great pattern to good use! Happy Holidays to you!

       
  13. Laura

    March 17, 2013 at 1:21 am

    I am working on one exactly like this, but with different colors (aside from the black). I thought I was being original, lol. I haven’t been carrying the black, but that is a good idea. I’m going to start doing that. I hope mine turns out as good as yours.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 17, 2013 at 4:33 am

      Hi Laura. Isn’t this a fun stitch to work? I still get lots of comments on this project. I’m sure that yours will turn out beautifully as well!

       
  14. Rena Anderson

    October 11, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    Hi,
    I’m looking for your stained glass pattern and can’t find it. When I click on the here spot, it takes me to the steam wave throw. I would really like the pattern!! Can you tell me how to get it?
    Thanks,
    Rena

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      October 12, 2013 at 6:06 am

      Hi Rena, The Steamwave throw by Kim Guzman is the pattern for the stained glass afghan. I simply used different colors. I used Black for all the sections between each color and then simply used scraps from my stash for the wavy colored sections.

       
      • Rena Anderson

        October 13, 2013 at 2:08 am

        Thank you for getting back to me. I love what you did with it:)

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        October 13, 2013 at 6:19 am

        You’re welcome Rena. This throw is very easy to make!

         
  15. Rena

    November 5, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    I have another question on the Afghan. I think you can make it longer right? Like if I wanted to chain 187 instead of 167. As long as I end on 7 right?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      November 6, 2013 at 2:35 pm

      Yes Rena, you can make it longer by simply adding more rows or wider by chaining additional chains. I’m not sure what the repeat is but you can simply chain as wide as you want the afghan to be and then unravel any extra chains.

       
  16. Rena

    November 7, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    Ok. I kind of thought so. When I tried it out, it wasn’t working. I think it was just me. Thank you so much for your help:)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      November 8, 2013 at 5:22 am

      Good luck with this Rena!

       
  17. Tammy Callicutt

    February 1, 2014 at 11:25 am

    When changing colors at the end of rows, i know it says don’t cut , so you just leaving it hanging ? That part has me a little puzzled, i want to make this its a beautiful afghan & i want to do this in different colors

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 1, 2014 at 11:46 am

      Tammy, those are the instructions for the Streamwave Throw which only uses a couple of colors. If you are making the Stained Glass Afghan you will have to cut your yarn when you change color. Weaving in all the tails took almost as long as making the afghan!

       
  18. Karen Villa

    May 10, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    Just Beautiful, the colors just pop what a wonderful job u did.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      May 11, 2014 at 4:41 am

      Thank you Karen!

       
  19. Laraine

    July 19, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    Wow, I just saw this today while visiting the lovely Nancy, of Nancy’s Nice Knots of Crochet. Now I know what I’m going to do with all that left over yarn that’s been waiting for a home. :) Love the idea. Beautiful job!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      July 20, 2014 at 4:17 am

      Thank you Laraine. I thought I would use up all of my scraps but I actually hardly made a dent in them! And then I had to go out and buy more black. But I love this afghan and will probably try another one in a different color combination some time. Good luck with yours!

       
  20. Mary

    August 15, 2014 at 11:34 pm

    Did you use different textured or weights of yarn? Ex. Silky or nubby? Or did you try to keep it the same weight?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 16, 2014 at 5:03 am

      Mary, I used mainly the same textures of worsted weight yarn but the Caron Simply Soft I used was too thin so I doubled it. This caused it to be a bit too thick but it actually looked fine. All the yarn was smooth but I think that different textures would look great as long as you didn’t let it get too thin.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,980 other followers

