RSS

A Valentine Idea for your Sweetie

29 Jan

Valentine Candy Bar “Card”

My husband Paul is fortunate enough to have his birthday fall on the day before Valentine’s Day.  Many years ago, when we were first married, I hit upon the idea of making a “card” for him composed of all the candy bars that I could find.  I shopped around for any type of candy bar with an interesting name.  Once I had my candy bar supply, I bought three large pieces of poster board.  Those were the days before coreboard so I glued  them all together to make the huge “card” more sturdy.  Just buy a piece of coreboard now and use that as your card.  Then I had to put on my thinking cap and come up with a few sentences that incorporated all the names of the candy bars and came close to describing how I felt about him.  You see the end result below.  I gave the huge card to him on his birthday but you can make a Valentine card instead.  Paul has quite a sweet tooth.  He judged this card to be the best birthday gift he had ever received!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2012 in This 'N That

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “A Valentine Idea for your Sweetie

  1. Wendy Geoghan

    January 29, 2012 at 11:20 am

    That is so clever! You have me thinking now. I usually get John a box of Fitzkees for Valentines Day but might have to get creative. Now I want a candy bar! Have a lovely Valentines Day.
    Wendy

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 29, 2012 at 11:54 am

      I hope you do this Wendy! I’d love to see what other folks come up with when they make sentences out of the candy bars.

       
  2. jd wolfe

    January 30, 2012 at 2:31 am

    such a great idea. a kid would really love this – with maybe fewer candies for the kiddies!
    jd

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 30, 2012 at 9:14 am

      You’re right JD! Silly me, I never thought of that but my grandson’d birthday is in March and I think I’ll try this too!

       
  3. Beverooni

    February 6, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    I haven’t seen one of these in a long time, Carol. What a great idea! Our 42nd anniversary is on Valentine’s Day and this would be a fun thing to do for The Hubster.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 6, 2012 at 1:36 pm

      Ha ha Bev, this is an idea that I read about a long time ago but it still goes over well. The men just love those candy bars!

       
  4. H. A.

    February 20, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Thank you for making me smile from ear to ear. Bet your husband loved that! Regards.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 20, 2012 at 3:57 pm

      Ha,ha H.A., the rhyme was a bit lame but it was hard to come up with anything to go with some of those candy bars! :-)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,899 other followers

