RSS

No Bobble “Bobble” Scarf

12 Jan

No Bobble “Bobble” Scarf

 

Materials:

3 skeins Lion Brand Tweed Stripes, Woodland; Bulky (5) 144 yds/132 m, Crochet Hooks size K (6.00 mm) and L (8.00 mm), Yarn needle

Measurements:

Without Fringe: 60″ X 10″

Gauge:

In pattern, 10 dc = 4″, 6 rows = 4″

Stitches Used:

Slip Stitch ( sl st)     Single Crochet ( sc)     Half-Double Crochet  (hdc)     Double Crochet  (dc)

Double Crochet 2 Together  (dc2tog)

Note: The beginning ch 3 counts as a dc throughout this pattern.

Row 1:  With L, Ch 26.  Switch to K. Dc in 4th ch from hook and into ea ch across. Turn (24 dc)

Row 2:  Ch 1, sk 1st dc, (sc, ch 3, hdc) into next dc, *sk next dc, (sc, ch 3, hdc) into next dc**.  Repeat from * to ** to last dc. Sc in last dc (tc). Turn. NOTE:  If you are finding it a problem to make a hdc after making a ch 3, you can make a dc instead.  This uses a bit more yarn but does not change the look of the project.

Row 3:  Ch 3, dc in 1st sc, *sk next (hdc,ch3), 2 dc in next sc**. Repeat from * to ** to last (hdc,ch3). Sk (hdc, ch3), 2 dc in ch 1 sp from prev row (tc). Turn.  (You will be placing 2 dc into ea sc in the row.  11 “bobbles” made)

Repeat rows 2 and 3 for pattern until scarf measures 60″ without fringe. End with row 3  as the last row worked. Do not fasten off.

Fringe: ( Optional)   *Ch 12, dc2tog in 3rd ch from hook, sl st in same ch, sl st in ea of remaining 9 chs, sl st into next st on scarf.**  Repeat from * to ** until you have worked 23 fringes. Fasten off.  On other end of scarf, attach yarn with a sl st on RS in first st. ( You will be working on the opposite side of your starting chain) Repeat from * to ** until you have worked 23 fringes. Fasten off Weave in ends with yarn needle.

Copyright: Carol Wolf, January 2012
 
57 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in crochet, Projects

 

Tags: , , , ,

57 responses to “No Bobble “Bobble” Scarf

  1. Charly

    January 12, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    Love the no bobbles look!!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 13, 2012 at 9:17 am

      Thanks Charly!

       
  2. Wendy Geoghan

    January 12, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Beautiful! Another one of your lovely designs to add to my list. Love the yarn color.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 13, 2012 at 9:16 am

      Thanks Wendy! I love that color too. And the yarn worked up beautifully. No issues with splitting despite some comments on Ravelry about this yarn.

       
  3. jd wolfe

    January 13, 2012 at 3:02 am

    such a pretty scarf. thanks so much for sharing your pattern!
    jd in st louis

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 13, 2012 at 9:15 am

      Thank you JD!

       
  4. Sarah

    January 13, 2012 at 5:13 am

    Has anyone charted this? I’m having trouble getting to grips with Row 3 and then how to start Row 2 again. I’m probably a bit more of a visual person (and novice) because I usually end up charting concepts that are new to me :)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 13, 2012 at 9:15 am

      Sarah, on row 3 you are simply placing 2 double crochet stitches into each single crochet stitch from the (sc, 3 ch, hdc) from the previous row. When you reach the end of the row, you will place your last two double crochet stitches into the chain 1 space that began the previous row where you chained 1 and skipped the first double crochet.

      On row 2, you chain 1, skip the first double crochet (not the turning chain but the next one) and then into the next double crochet put (sc, ch 3, hdc) all in the same stitch. Skip another double crochet stitch and place (sc, ch 3, hdc) in the following one. So in other words, every other stitch will have a group of (sc, ch 3, hdc) in it to the end. For the last stitch, sc into the turning chain from the previous row.

      I’m sorry I don’t know how to do charting. Is there a program for that?

       
    • Renee

      February 27, 2012 at 4:43 pm

      This is a very easy pattern,once you get the hang of it you’ll be ok!

       
      • Wolf Crochet

        February 27, 2012 at 7:18 pm

        I’m glad to hear you say that Renee. I think it is easy too and you get such a great result for it!

         
  5. leslie

    January 18, 2012 at 11:28 am

    really nice pattern design! is there a hat to match or one in the making?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 18, 2012 at 4:23 pm

      Sorry, no hat. I only had enough yarn for the scarf. Maybe I’ll stop by Michael’s tomorrow and pick up some more. Then we’ll see!

       
  6. Nada

    January 19, 2012 at 6:15 am

    Beautiful pattern and colours :). But I need to make it thinner, how many chs should I have to make it about 6″?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 19, 2012 at 6:42 am

      Try about 17 chains. You must have a multiple of 3 plus 2.

       
      • Nada

        January 19, 2012 at 6:58 am

        Thanks :)

         
  7. Nada

    January 19, 2012 at 7:18 am

    What is (tc)?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 19, 2012 at 7:27 am

      A turning chain Nada. :-)

       
      • Nada

        January 19, 2012 at 7:29 am

        Thanks again :D

         
  8. Nada Ibrahim

    January 22, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    Hi, just to make sure I am correct, I chained 20, so in row 2, I will have 8 (sc, ch3, hdc)?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 23, 2012 at 9:41 am

      Nada, do you have 18 dc in row 1? Then you should have 8 sets of “bobbles”, a ch1 at the beginning of the row, and a sc in the tc at the end of the row. It sounds like everything is correct.

       
  9. girliefriend

    February 5, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    “Row 3: Ch 3, ***sk dc in in base of ch 3, *sk next (hdc,ch3), 2 dc in next sc***”

    I struggled with this portion of the pattern too. The way it’s written, it has you skipping two stitches in a row. I figured out a fix that seems to work for me, but is this really written correctly? what does “in in base of chain 3″ mean? Is there a missing stitch in the directions or are we really to skip two stitches in a row?

    I get the pattern for both rows as I’m working across, it’s the ends that have me confused and short a bobble..

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 6, 2012 at 6:56 am

      I’m sorry girliefriend, I had a typo at the beginning of row 3. I have edited the instructions to read: ch 3, dc in 1st sc, *sk next (hdc, ch 3), 2 dc in next sc **. At the beginning of the row you will have 2 dc. One of these is your ch 3 turning ch which counts as a dc. Then you will put 2 dc into ea sc from the row below. You WILL be skipping the hdc and the ch 3 each time. This is what makes the “bobble” pattern in the scarf.

      Although I have proofread this pattern many times, it is only when another person reads it from their perspective that errors can be spotted. Thank you for your help in calling these to my attention. I hope this process hasn’t caused you too much difficulty.

       
  10. girliefriend

    February 5, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    One more point…the way I read the pattern, there isn’t a double crochet at the end of row 2 that we can skip in the beginning of row 3.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 6, 2012 at 6:35 am

      All ch 3’s at the beginning of a row count as double crochet stitches. This means that your last dc in a row is the beginning ch 3 from the previous row. This is stated at the beginning of the instructions.

       
  11. girliefriend

    February 6, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Thanks! I understood the turning ch 3 counted as a dc. Now that you have clarified the typo, this makes total sense, and is exactly the modification I made prior to posting the comment. Glad I was on the right track. All is clear now. Again, thank you for the clarification. :)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 6, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      I’m just sorry that you got confused. I guess I did too much cutting and pasting when I was writing the pattern!

       
  12. girliefriend

    February 11, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    When you made this, did it skew on you? I know I can (and will) block this when I’m done, but it really looks like I’m creating a diagonally stitched scarf and I was wondering if yours did the same? I love the the way the bobbles look though! Thanks for all your help Carol.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 12, 2012 at 2:45 pm

      Yes girlierfriend, I should have mentioned that in the pattern. Whenever you work the same stitch on the same row you get that skewing. But I pinned my scarf to the ironing board and held the steam just above it. It came out perfectly straight. I’d love to see a photo of your scarf. Will you be posting it on Ravelry?

       
  13. Jennifer Meyer

    July 15, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    I love your pattern and colors. I am going to attempt to make it double the size. This will be for a sham at the end of our bed. I cant wait to find this yarn and get started.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      July 15, 2012 at 3:24 pm

      What a great idea Jennifer!

       
  14. Teresa Morris

    October 1, 2012 at 9:32 am

    Love the pattern! Your scarf is beautiful; I hope my turns out as nice. I am using Tweed Stripes – Caribbean. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      October 1, 2012 at 10:17 am

      Oh Teresa, I think that your yarn choice is just perfect!

       
      • Teresa Morris

        October 4, 2012 at 2:42 pm

        I just finished the scarf using Caribbean as a birthday present for my niece. I love it so much that I am making one for me now using Lakeside! I’m going to make this one not as wide, starting with chaining 20. Already on the 3rd row and can’t wait to finish it. It’s a wonderful pattern and the fringe is the icing on the cake. Thanks again for sharing this wonderful pattern with us.

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        October 4, 2012 at 4:25 pm

        Thanks Teresa! I think I saw your scarf on Ravelry. You must now put up a photo of the finished project! :-)

         
  15. Teresa Morris

    October 4, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I just posted pictures of the finished project. My Ravelry ID is Ragdoll1959.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      October 5, 2012 at 7:39 am

      I saw your scarf Teresa! That colorway is just beautiful! Great job!

       
      • Teresa Morris

        October 5, 2012 at 11:25 am

        Thanks so much! I am still working on the scarf using the Lakeside colorway. Not liking this color so much as there isn’t as much contrasting colors. Might put it aside for a while and try one of your other patterns. I am so glad I found you…you have so many wonderful patterns, I don’t have to look anywhere else…I have so many future projects just from you! Have a wonderful weekend. We are having a Yarn Crawl here is the Dallas area starting today and I think I MUST try to hit as many of the stores as possible.

         
  16. Kace

    November 2, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    What a great scarf! I found this while looking for a pattern to use a couple of skeins of the Tweed Stripes I had laying around. I LOVE the bobble look without wasting a bunch of yarn. I’ll be posting pictures to Ravelry this weekend! My user name is kacebelle.

    I’m not a fan of wide scarves so I chained 15 and I have 6 bobbles. It is a very simple pattern and works up quite nicely. I’m not have any issues with skewing. I’ll be making one for my daughter as well!

    Thanks again for a great pattern!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      November 3, 2012 at 4:08 am

      What a nice comment Kace! I’m happy that the pattern worked out so well for you. I’ll be sure to look for it on Ravelry.

       
  17. Sheila

    December 19, 2012 at 11:56 am

    New to the crochet/knitting world! LOVE this scarf. Might attempt it soon! I registered on Ravelry but can’t find where to look at the other scarves done by kacebelle and rgdoll1959. Can you help?
    Thanks!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 19, 2012 at 4:02 pm

      Sheila, if you go to the first page of Ravelry after the log-in you will see a search box in the upper right hand corner. There is a drop-down menu that is labeled “patterns” that you can change to “people”. Type in the name you want and it will take you to a link to all their projects.

       
    • Teresa Morris

      December 19, 2012 at 7:01 pm

      Hi Sheila..my Ravelry name is Ragdoll1959. Feel free to add me to your friends on Ravelry. I must warn you being new to the crochet/knitting world..it is very addicting! It is also very rewarding, because you get to meet (if only virtually) such wonderful people as Carol Wolf who so graciously shares with us her wonderful patterns.

      I made two of these scarves and absolutely love them. Of course they both went to family members as gifts…guess that means I need to make one for myself now!

       
      • Wolf Crochet

        December 20, 2012 at 7:33 am

        What a nice meeting we had here ladies! :-)

         
  18. Arlene Cohen

    February 11, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    I really wanted to make this scarf, both for the lovely pattern and the sensational colors. I was shocked and disappointed when the yarn arrived (I ordered it on-line since I do not live in the States). The Woodlands colors are very dark (so are the picture samples at Lion Brand and other sources), and it looks NOTHING like the scarf pictured in your pattern! The discrepancy is not slight -it’s as though they are entirely different colors. Does this happen often?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 12, 2013 at 7:03 am

      Arlene, I can’t speak for the Lion Brand Company. I know that when I bought my yarn, it was wrapped in such a way that the darker colors were on top of the skein. I actually thought that my scarf was going to come out darker but the lighter colors soon appeared and I ended up with a nice surprise. Whenever you have variagated yarn you will experience the shading throughout. Perhaps the company has changed it’s dying process. I still think that this yarn is quite beautiful and makes a wonderful project but you might want to try another yarn from another company if you are not hasppy with the result.

       
  19. raggz2baggz

    March 28, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    Hi there Wolf,
    I saw this scarf on Meladora’s Creations Community page. I downloaded the pattern off Ravelry and popped on over to check out your blog. I am impressed. Can’t wait to crochet this.
    I am now following your blog. Please visit mine and leave me a comment. Thank you.

    Ta Ta for now, Cathy Milne

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 28, 2013 at 5:23 pm

      Hi Cathy, thank you for visiting my blog. I enjoyed your blog very much too, in fact, we have a bit in common since I also sew and do embroidery. I must admit that I haven’t embroidered anything in a while and I do not quilt. You blog is wonderful, chock full of all kinds of goodies. I have started following it because I want to take time to really explore it a bit more!

       
  20. raggz2baggz

    March 29, 2013 at 2:47 am

    Reblogged this on New Buzz from the Bagg Lady and commented:
    This scarf is simply stunning! The pattern looks very easy to follow. You can be certain I will be making several. Thank you, WolfCrochet for sharing.. I hope you like it too.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 29, 2013 at 8:18 am

      Love this Cathy! Thank you!

       
  21. Marjorie

    October 18, 2013 at 7:37 am

    Love this scrunchy effect wool and colours plus the no-bobble pattern. Really must get round to making the scarf. Many thanks for it.

     
  22. Marjorie

    October 18, 2013 at 7:40 am

    Love the scrunchy no-bobble effect and colours with this wool scarf and really hope to get round to useing it. Thankyou.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      October 18, 2013 at 10:05 am

      Thank you for your feedback Marjorie!

       
  23. Janette

    December 6, 2013 at 11:09 am

    I love the colors in this yarn choice….and the fringe is unique.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 7, 2013 at 10:53 am

      Thank you Janette!

       
  24. Karne Gray

    March 10, 2014 at 9:24 am

    I like the colors and texture of this scarf. Can’t wait to try itI

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 10, 2014 at 10:16 am

      Thanks Karne!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,972 other followers

