RSS

Hate Making Bobbles But Love The Look?

11 Jan

Many of you will agree that bobbles look fantastic on all manner of crocheted items.  Not only do they offer great nubby texture, but they also work as an insulating mechanism to make scarves, hats, and blankets that much warmer. But I have to tell you that I find bobbles very tedious to make. All that business of removing and  re-inserting the hook really slows down the progress of whatever you are working on.  In addition, I dislike the fact that bobble-making takes quite a lot more yarn.  If I am planning a design with bobbles, I always have to allow an extra skein so that I am sure I will not run out.

Well, do I have a great pattern for you bobble-haters!  As I was browsing my craftroom bookshelves for a new and interesting pattern, I noticed a little pamphlet stuck behind a larger book.  This little pamphlet, a booklet with two baby blankets on the cover, was something I had inherited from my mother-in-law.  At first I was struck by the pretty shell design of the Boys’ Afghan.  But upon closer inspection, I noticed that the Girls’ Afghan had a very interesting texture.  It was difficult to see in the photo but I quickly got out my worsted weight yarn to work up a swatch.  I was delighted to find that the stitch pattern approximates  the bobble pattern but that the “bobbles”  are actually three chains squeezed between the neighboring stitches. Wow! I really loved that pattern!

Now before we all get too excited, I should say that you will be making a half-double crochet stitch after your three chains.  As we all know, working a half-double after a long chain can be a pain because the chain has a tendency to twist around the hook.  On the other hand, by now all of us “intermediate  and above” crocheters have come up with a method to solve this problem.  I simply work my HDC in 2 stages, holding my chain out of the way with my right hand.  I still feel that this is much easier and goes much faster than making bobbles!  Lickity split I decided to work up a scarf in this new stitch.  I call this the No Bobble “Bobble” Scarf.  It is a nice comfy 10″ across and 60″ long without the fringe.  If you like the chunky fringe, adding it also adds a lot of pizzazz.  The pattern will be available tomorrow but here is a little preview to entice you!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in crochet, Projects

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Hate Making Bobbles But Love The Look?

  1. Tez

    January 11, 2012 at 11:03 am

    wonderful! I can’t wait to try it! I love bobbles but usually end up faking them to go faster. Thanks

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 12, 2012 at 9:37 am

      Tez, be sure to use bulky yarn. This makes the 3 chain loops look like bobbles more than worsted weight yarn would.

       
  2. Mary Sarah

    January 12, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    What a great design! I can’t wait to try it. Thanks so much for sharing!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 13, 2012 at 9:17 am

      Thank you Mary Sarah!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,981 other followers

