RSS

Men’s Bike Chain Hat and Scarf

17 Sep

 

I developed a stitch recently that I have been using in designing a car coat.  I am sure that this stitch is not original but I have decided to call it the “bike chain pattern”.  My car coat is about half finished but it will take me some time yet to get it just right.  In the meantime, I thought I’d make up a scarf and hat for Paul.  This pattern is very rugged looking and is perfect for any male accessories.  The texture traps air and makes for a particularly warm garment.  I used Paton’s Classic Wool in dark grey because I happened to have a few skeins hanging around and it went well with the bike chain theme.  In addition, this is a very easy pattern to do.  It only took me four evenings to make both the hat and the scarf.  Alternately, this set would work well for the ladies too.  A bright color yarn will really make those textured stitches stand out!

 

Bike Chain Hat

This hat looks flat in the photo but it actually comes down to cover the ears.

Measurements: Will fit head circimference 22″ to 26″  Materials: About 223 yards of worsted weight yarn.  I used  one skein of Paton’s Classic Wool in dark grey, Crochet hook size I, yarn needle.  Gauge: In pattern, 14 sts and 15 rows equal 4″.

Crown

Chain 5.  Join into a ring with a sl st in first ch.  Ch 2, ch2 counts as a st throughout pattern.work 15 dc into ring.  Join with a sl st into 2nd ch of beginning ch2. Ch1, turn.

Round 2:     Sc into same st as joining. *Front post single crochet ( fpsc) around post of next dc, sc into top of next dc* and work from * to * around until 16 sts have been worked. Join with a sl st to first sc. Ch 2, turn. Mark this side as the right side.

Round 3:     2 dc  in 1st sc and into ea sc around. Join with a sl st to 1st dc. Ch 1, turn. (32 dc)

Round 4:     Sc into first dc, *fpsc into next dc, sc into top of next dc* and work from * to * around until 32 sc have been worked , join with a sl st, ch2, turn.

Round 5:      Dc in 1st sc, * 2 dc into next sc, dc into next sc*, around until 48 dc have been worked.  Join, ch 1, turn.

Round 6:     Sc into 1st dc, *fpsc into next dc, sc into next dc*, work from * to * around. Join, ch 2, turn.

Round 7:     Dc in first 2 sc, *2 dc in next sc,  dc in next 2 sc* around until you have worked 64 dc. Join, ch 1, turn.

Round 8:     Work round 6.

Round 9:     Work a double crochet round by placing 2 dc into each 4th st. Join, ch 1, turn. (80 dc)

Round 10 through round 25: Work even on 80 stitches by alternating the (sc, fpsc,sc, etc) round and the dc round,  End with the dc row.

Hat Band

Round 1:     Sc into back loops only of ea dc around. Join, ch 2, turn.

Round 2:     Dc into both loops of ea st around, join, ch 1. Do not turn.

Round 3:     Work  round 6 from crown.

Work 5 more rounds, alternating dc and sc rounds. Fasten off. Weave in ends.

 

Bike Chain Scarf

Measurements: 54″ x 7″

Materials:  About 340 yards of worsted weight yarn.  I used 1.5 skeins of  Paton’s Classic Wool in dark grey. Crochet hook size I, yarn needle. Gauge: In pattern, 14 sts and 15 rows equal 4″

The ch 2 at the beginning of ea row counts as a stitch throughout pattern.

Ch 193. Dc into 2nd ch from hook and into ea ch across.  Ch 1, turn. (191 dc)

Row 2:     Sc into1st dc, *front post sc ( fpsc) around post of next dc, sc into top of next dc* across row to last 2 dc. Fpsc around next dc, sc into top of tc. Ch 2, turn.

Row 3:     Dc into ea st across.  Ch 1, turn.

Rows 4- 21 ( or until scarf measures about 7″) repeat rows 2 and 3 ending with row 2. Fasten off.

Attach yarn on wrong side of first dc row of scarf. Work row 2 across. Fasten off.  Weave in ends.

Because the nature of this pattern causes the fabric to slant slightly, I blocked it by pinning it to shape and misting it lightly with water.  Dry overnight.

Copyright Carol Wolf, September 2010

 
60 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2010 in crochet, Projects

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

60 responses to “Men’s Bike Chain Hat and Scarf

  1. Ellen Coppell

    November 3, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Carol,

    Thank you for the patterns, which I’ll be making as Christmas gifts for my husband and son-in-law.

     
  2. Ellen Coppell

    November 3, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Hi Carol,

    I know you used Paton’s classic wool for the hat and scarf. Could I use Mission Falls 136 merino superwash, as it’s softer but probably just as warm? My concern is that both men won’t use the hat and scarf I’d make for them, because it’s too scratchy. Also, would the drape on the scarf be adversely affected?

    Thanks,
    Ellen

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      November 6, 2010 at 6:10 am

      Ellen, I am sure that your choice of yarn will be fine as long as it is worsted weight. I agree that the Patons Classic is scratchy and I only used it because I had a few skeins left over from another project. The Patons Classic is not a lightweight worsted so you might compare your yarn with it to see if it has the same heft.

       
  3. Jennifer

    December 8, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Thank you for this pattern! I am making one right now for my cousin. :)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 8, 2010 at 1:03 pm

      Jennifer, don’t forget to check my comment ahead of the post for the pattern. It concerns the yarn and might be helpful to you.

       
      • Jennifer

        December 10, 2010 at 4:38 pm

        Ah, yes. I made the hat using Red Heart Super Saver yarn in gray. It turned out great!

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        December 12, 2010 at 6:12 am

        Great Jennifer! I think that the Super Saver works very well with this pattern and it’s washable too!

         
  4. Thuy

    December 17, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Dear Carol,

    Your pattern looks really cool. I learn how to crochet in Vietnam by watching my neighbors and I have crocheted a tiny sweater among other things for my doll. That was twenty something years ago. This year I decided to get back to that hobby, but of course I know little about the terminology. I have gone to google and looked it up. So now, I am somewhat familiar, but still not sure how to start off on your pattern.

    To clerify:

    ch = chain?
    sl st = slip stich?
    dc = double crochet?

    I’m somewhat confused about “Chain 5…Join with a sl st into 2nd ch of beginning ch2…” I’m confused about 2nd ch and beginning of ch2. Are they different?

    Thanks for your help.

    Thuy

    i have to look up how to do fpsc

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 17, 2010 at 4:33 pm

      Yes Thuy, your definitions of the abreviations are correct. When I speak of the beginning chain 2, I am talking about the chain 2 you made at the beginning of the round. Once you have worked all the stitches in the round you will end the round by placing a slip stitch into the 2nd chain of the chain 2 that you made at the beginning. The two are different. “Chain 2″ refers to making a stitch that is made up of 2 chains. The “2nd chain” refers to the chain that is the 2nd one on that “chain 2″ stitch. I hope this helps. :-)

       
      • Thuy

        December 20, 2010 at 5:12 pm

        Thanks a lot, Carol. I’ll give it a try. Happy Holidays!

        Thuy

         
  5. Jenny

    December 27, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    I am confused about what you mean by “Attach yarn on wrong side of first dc row of scarf. Work row 2 across. Fasten off. Weave in ends.” I have crocheted a lot but have never seen anything worded this way. What do you mean by work row 2 across? I have finished the scarf except for this part..eek.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 28, 2010 at 8:49 am

      Jenny, it simply means that you work row 2. Sc into 1st dc, fpsc around post of next dc, sc into next dc etc. I was attempting to make both edges of the scarf look the same, hence this extra “row 2″. Is there another clearer way I might have written this?

       
  6. Cindy

    February 25, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Carol, when making the hat band, do we not turn after each subsequent dc row for the other 5 rows? My band is inside out now from the pattern of the crown. Is this correct? Otherwise I’m loving this pattern! My husband has been trying it on for proper sizing and he can’t wait for it to be done.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      February 26, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Cindy, the hat band is inside out now because it will be folded up when you are done. That way the pattern will show on the correct side. :-)

       
  7. JoAnn

    March 9, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Cindy, what a great pattern!. I had to look up video on Youtube on how to do FPSC (only found FPDC, but figured it out easily) I made the scarf for my son in one night and am working on the hat now.

    I am VERY confused though. You say in the beginning, that the chain 2 counts as a stitch through the pattern, there for when you quote a number of stitches, as in round 2 = 32 DC worked..Does that include the 2 chain for turning in the beginning of that row, or am I supposed to have 32 DC + the chain?
    The term “worked” is what was confusing.

    Also MAJOR confusion on:
    Round 9: Work a double crochet round by placing 2 dc into each 4th st. Join, ch 1, turn. (80 dc)

    I have tried this 5 timesand there is no way to come up to 80dc

     
  8. JoAnn

    March 15, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Hi Cindy, I saw that you are out of town and not blogging. So I figured I would hook away and determined as I am, thought I would work out my mistakes and be able to send you a nice picture of my completed project…but alas, I still cannot figure out what I am doing wrong. I have never made a hat or anything that starts to build up on a ring. But like I said in the previous post, seemed to be going okay until the row that is 80 stitches! I am sorry to bother you with what is likely a very basic stitch question. Please help! Thank you so much for your time!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 15, 2011 at 5:42 pm

      Hi JoAnn! Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. You’re right, I just got back from Florida today. Okay, assuming that you are starting with a round that now has 64 stitches, you will be increasing one stitch every 4th single crochet by placing 2 double crochet into each 4th single crochet stitch. If you have 64 stitches to start, this means you are increasing 16 times (adding 16 double crochet). This adds up to be 80 double crochet stitches. If you are not coming up with 80, check to make sure that the last round has 64 stitches. If it does, then maybe you are crocheting into the slip stitch that you are using to join the stitches at the end of the round. Your chain 2 at the beginning of each double crochet round counts as a stitch but your chain 1 at the beginning of each single crochet round does not. If you can’t figure out your error, don’t worry about it. Just work 80 total double crochet stitches (you’ll be fudging a little) to make the round come out right. You won’t notice this when the hat is finished. Carol

       
      • Kandi

        December 28, 2011 at 11:51 am

        Hi. I am trying to work the pattern for the hat and I just ended up with a huge round disk by the time I got to row 17. Is this what’s supposed to happen before I do the band? I counted my stitches accurately. I don’t know where I went wrong.

        I started taking my work out to do it over, thinking that maybe at row 9 I’m only supposed to do a double crochet in every 4th stitch and not the rest.

        Please help me, if you can, with this.

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        December 29, 2011 at 9:08 am

        Hi Kandi, On round 10 you start working even. This means you do no more increases but instead just work one stitch into each stitch from the previous row. Hope this helps! Happy New Year!

         
  9. JoAnn

    March 15, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    Carol,
    I am so sorry I called you Cindy! (I was on the phone with Cindy right before I typed..) I am so embarrassed…I apologize for the rudeness! You can just call me Judy.. LOL! Thanks for the advice, I will give it a shot. I think I may need to invest in some stitch markers, I am using a safety pin to mark the beginnings of the rounds and that is helping me keep it straight!
    Hope you enjoyed the trip to Florida (I am from South Florida myself, live in TN near the Smokys now). Btw >>LOVE the cornices and the bench redo. We have very similar tastes. And you love vettes too. A woman after my own heart! Thanks bunches!!!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 16, 2011 at 6:20 am

      That’s ok JoAnn! I’ve been called worse! Safety pins are just as good as stitch markers and I agree that they are a big help. I use them all the time. I went to college at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville and still get down to the Smokys once in a while. Beautiful country!

       
  10. schmoozelfleugen

    November 19, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Thanks for these patterns! I’m working up both the scarf and the coat, as we speak.
    I have a wordpress site…may I post a link to yours?
    Wendy

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      November 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm

      Why yes Wendy, that would be great! Thanks for writing. :-)

       
  11. Susan Needham

    December 15, 2011 at 9:21 am

    Hi,
    I stumbled across this pattern yesterday. I had finished all my Christmas projects for my 5 nieces 2 nephews and 2 niece dogs and needed one more scarf for a nephew. Did not have any gray. Just had alot of black left over so did it in black. Looks nice and was easy to make. But I think it would of looked better in the gray. Plus, his only transportation is a bike so I thought this would be interesting.
    Thanks

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 15, 2011 at 9:42 am

      It’s great that you finished the scarf so quickly Susan. Have a wonderful holiday!

       
  12. Dee Gonzalez

    January 7, 2012 at 5:09 am

    Hi Carol! Thanks so much for the pattern. I’m a year and change short, but definitely not too late for finding this set. I’ve been hunting the web for 2 days now, for that extra special hat to make my dear hubby extra warm while he works (Outdoors for 12-16 hours a day.). Question. I’m at the first round of 80 DC even (11) and can’t help but notice it’s measuring a lovely 4 & 3/8 inches
    from center of crown to current
    round. Am I doing something
    wrong? Please help. Also, was
    thinking… since the long way turns
    me off (Think: dozing off with hook
    in hand, then awakening to the ping
    sound of said hook, hitting the
    floor. LOL) Yes I have issues! Who doesn’t?!? Anywho can you post me back soon, thanks?. Yours truly Dee- creator of “Purplie”.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 7, 2012 at 8:54 am

      Dee, this is correct. My hat measures the same. As you add the following rows, the hat will become larger. It seems you are an early riser like me or do you live in the UK?

       
  13. Dee Gonzalez

    January 7, 2012 at 5:20 am

    Uh, duh! Call it multi-tasking malfunctioning … Seems I forgot I was on my way to you with a question about the scarf and became embarrassingly distracted. Well now. Yes, that’s it, was wondering if there’s a way to do it say: chain 22 or 23?. And work as pattern says, except I’d be working them in shorter rows? You know?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 7, 2012 at 5:33 am

      Of course Dee! This pattern does not have any repeats so you can make the rows as long or as short as you like.

       
      • Dee Gonzalez

        February 4, 2012 at 2:22 am

        Hi Carol, so sorry it’s taken me such a while to get back to you. Wasn’t able to make the hat or scarf for my dear hubby. Picky Taurus! If I was a guy, I’d love it if a gal made me this set! Seems he’s more of a “bullet hat” guy, and not at all a scarf guy. Suppose, I could have noticed that over the years. So. I’ve got an acquaintance who’s been helping me to bring in business with my crocheted items. He’s not much for hats but appreciates a well designed scarf. So this is my: “Merry belated christmas, hope you had a good new year’s, thanks for relaying all the messages and passing your phone to your coworkers for me, it meant a lot” scarf. P.S. No ma’am, LOL,
        not over there on your side of the earth. I live
        in Queens, N.Y.
        Just suffer with a bad case of crochetitis- it’s this really bad disease wherein I crochet all night til I fall asleep in the early morn ( preferably sometime

        between 4 & 6 am). Only to have to wake to make breakfast less than 2 hours later. Couldn’t see my life without a hook in my hand, though. Unreal, huh?

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        February 4, 2012 at 4:00 pm

        I think we all suffer from “crochetitis” Dee! :-)

         
  14. L Morgan

    March 9, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    I’m unable to see pic when I click the link

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 9, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      Could you tell which link you are referring to? When I go onto the accessory pattern menu at the top of my home page and click on Men’s Bike Chain Hat and Scarf, the blog post with the pattern comes up and it includes all the photos. When I click on each photo, a new window opens with a close-up of the photo. I am not sure what isn’t working for you.

       
  15. crochetfreak

    October 25, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    This is an incredible pattern, I used camouflage yarn to create a scarf for my boyfriend….really good instructions and easy to follow. I even learned a new stitch…(FP) I wonder what a scarf would look like with (SC) and (FP)?…Thank you so much for sharing !

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      October 26, 2012 at 5:52 am

      Thank you so much Chrissy! I’m happy it worked out well for you. :-)

       
  16. Dee Gonzalez

    December 10, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Hiya! It’s me again. Have a question about the hat. At round 25 do you turn, when starting the band through the back loops?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 11, 2012 at 10:31 am

      Hi again Dee! My husband is actually wearing the hat to work today so I can’t look at it. The intention is to make the hatband fold over to the right side of the hat by only working into the loop that will help the band to do this. Once you have completed that step, you will be crocheting in both loops again. I hope this helps. If you find that my instructions are incorrect, please let me know.

       
      • Dee Gonzalez

        December 12, 2012 at 9:42 am

        O fkay. So I think that’d be… yeah got it- work through loops on outside of right side of hat. Will send you pics soon. Scarf is taking forever, though.

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        December 13, 2012 at 9:46 am

        Glad you got it Dee! You know, the single crochet row virtually disappears so it seems as if it is taking a long time to make. But I think the texture is worth it. Looking forward to seeing a photo!

         
  17. Rosina Jackson

    December 15, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    Hello,
    I am making the scarf for my brother for Xmas and I can’t figure out what you mean by “tc”? Is this a triple crochet?
    Thanks for a quick reply.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 16, 2012 at 6:19 am

      Hi Rosina! It means turning chain.

       
  18. Betsy

    December 22, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    I made this scarf for my nephew for Christmas and after clarifying the fpsc stitch with my mother, haha, it was an easy pattern to do! One question tho, how do you keep the scarf from rolling up on the edges? Mine wants to roll in on itself. I can forward you a picture if you don’t understand what I mean.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 23, 2012 at 11:18 am

      Betsy, I do understand exactly what you mean. You might try working a row or two of slip stitches along each long side. Alternately, you can try the crab stitch (reverse single crochet) along each long side. The last possibility is to lay your scarf on the ironing board and hold the iron about two inches above the scarf. Steam the scarf and pat the steam lightly into the fabric.

       
  19. Betsy

    December 23, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    Thank you!

     
  20. Daughters of Brigit Handcrafting

    January 12, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    Reblogged this on Daughters of Brigit Handcrafts.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 13, 2013 at 6:00 am

      Thank you dear!

       
  21. Sharon

    March 11, 2013 at 11:11 pm

    I love this pattern for the hat, haven’t tried the scarf but will. Wish I had this sized down to fit my 2 1/2 yr old nephew. Thank you so much and I love your other designs too…Sharon

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      March 12, 2013 at 8:13 am

      Thank you Sharon! The hat would be easy to size down. Why don’t you give it a try? Just crochet the pattern until the disc is large enough to fit the top of your nephew’s head and then stop making increases. This will make the sides of the hat. Stop working when it is big enough!

       
      • Sharon

        March 12, 2013 at 11:17 pm

        I will give this a try and thank you very much. Have a wonderful day, Sharon

         
  22. Mozelle

    May 24, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    I was pretty pleased to find this great site. I need to to
    thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!
    ! I definitely liked every part of it and i also have you saved to fav to see new stuff on your site.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      May 25, 2013 at 4:00 pm

      Mozelle, I am happy that you visited and I hope that you do so often!

       
  23. cathydinhvu

    September 30, 2013 at 9:09 am

    So happy when i found this pattern. I will make one for my father. Thank u so much

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      September 30, 2013 at 9:38 am

      I hope that you have good luck with it Cathy!

       
  24. Becki Alden

    December 15, 2013 at 4:39 am

    I am in LOVE with your stuff!! And I am overjoyed that you have Posted your patterns for free! Thank you!!! Its also funny, I made almost this identical hat for my boyfriend a few years back same color and all, and we are bicycle finatics!!! Not pattern, ya know, he just needed a hat, whatever…. And i had no clue it was called BIKECHAIN!!! Crazy huh!!! You might have come up with this one on your own but wow! I think thats pretty neat! At any rate, I found out about your site through google when i saw a beautiful crochet cable that i cant find on the page… Im intrested!!!! Email me if you can

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 15, 2013 at 9:33 am

      Hi Becki, Thank you for visiting my blog! And you are correct, I completely made up the name of that hat because the stitch reminded me of a bike chain. Great minds think alike! I’m not sure which cable you are referring to but I think it might be the one that I posted when I was practicing making Tunisian cables This cable is worked on a regular hook with a rubber band at the end to keep the fabric from sliding off. I was watching a Tunisian Cable video on youtube that Kim Guzman had posted. If you want to make the fabric wider, you must use a Tunisian hook. :-)

       
  25. Nusrat

    April 18, 2014 at 10:47 am

    Hi, I love this pattern and thank you so much for sharing it with everyone. I have some yarn leftover and want to make a smaller version for my nephew who’s 10 and wanted to know how to shorten the length? Thank you :-)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      April 18, 2014 at 2:26 pm

      Nusrat, just chain any odd number of chains until the scarf is as long as you would like it to be. Then follow the instructions. Your stitch count will be different but the rest will be the same. I did not write a smaller size for the hat so you are on your own there!

       
  26. Nusrat

    April 18, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    Thank you, won’t be making a hat :-)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,858 other followers

