RSS

Bamboo Hooded Scarf

27 Dec

I was looking through my downloaded patterns for an interesting stitch to use on my bamboo hooded scarf and came across Sarah’s blog,  Blooming Patterns.  The stitch pattern on her dishtowel intrigued me.  I quickly worked up a swatch and found out that I absolutely detest making a row of slip stitches on top of another row of slip stitches.  So I decided to modify the design a little by using single and double crochet stitches instead of slip stitches and half-double crochet.  The result looks almost the same.  With further experimentation, I decided I could make a row of slip stitches loosely enough that I could use it periodically for additional texture.  So, thank you, Sarah for a great idea!  Without further ado, here is my pattern for the Bamboo Hooded Scarf.

Bamboo Hooded Scarf  PDF Pattern

 

Bamboo Hooded Scarf

Size:   35″ long from top of head to one end of scarf x 8 1/2″ wide

Materials:   About 5 Sk. of Moda Dea Bamboo or other worsted weight yarn, Size I crochet hook, yarn needle

Gauge:  13 st in pattern = 4″, 18 rows in pattern = 4″

Ch 231. Sc in 2nd ch from hook and ea ch across. Ch 1, turn.

Row 2:  Sc in 1st 5 sts. Dc in next 5 sts. *Sc in next 5 sts, dc in next 5 sts*.  Repeat from * to * to end of row, ch 2, turn.

Row 3:  Dc in next 4 sts. *Sc in next 5 sts, dc in next 5 sts* to end of row, turn.

Row 4:  Sl st in ea st to end of row, ch 1, turn.

Repeat rows 2 through 4 ten times.

Repeat rows 2 and 3.

Last row: Sc in ea st to end of row. Fasten off.  Weave in all threads.

On right side, attach yarn at one corner and work across rows, placing 32 sc across end of scarf. Ch 1, turn.

Row 2: Sc in first 7 sts, dc in next 6 sts, * sc in next 6 sts, dc in next 6 sts*, work from * to * to last 7 sts. sc in last 7 sts, ch 1, turn.

Row 3:  Repeat row 2. Fasten off.

Work other end of scarf in the same way.  Fasten off.

Fold scarf in half, right sides facing each other.  You will be whip stitching the scarf together from the fold down 11″. Weave in ends.  I did a little light blocking.

If you would like to make just the scarf, simply omit the step where you sew the sides together.

Copyright Carol A. Wolf, December 2009

 
78 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2009 in crochet, Projects

 

Tags: , , , ,

78 responses to “Bamboo Hooded Scarf

  1. Rpberta

    December 31, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Hi

    I love the idea of a hooded scarf and want to try this but give me an idea as to amount of yarn used if using worsted weight and size I crochet needle. Also I’d like to make this for my nieces little girl what width would you recommend for a child. I am somewhat of a new beginner, having crocheted a lot when much younger and just started over now that I’m retired.

     
  2. wolfcrochet

    December 31, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Rpberta, I used about 650 yards of Moda Dea Bamboo which is worsted weight. I made the scarf a little narrower than most hooded scarves I have seen because I don’t like it falling into my face. If you are making it for a little girl, you might try a 6 inch width depending upon how old the child is. Also, you will want to make it shorter, maybe about 45 to 50 inches. You might consult the table of standard measurements for clothing on the web.

     
  3. Jan Clark

    January 1, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    I love this!…I have been looking for a similar pattern with a vest with the scarf attached. I saw someone wearing one but I think it was store bought. Do you know of anything?

     
    • wolfcrochet

      January 2, 2010 at 5:58 am

      Thanks Jan! I saw a pullover vest that has a scarf attached. It’s Paton’s Classic Evening V-Neck. That’s the only one I know of. The pattern is free and available on their website.

       
      • Jan Clark

        January 3, 2010 at 3:04 pm

        Thank you….I’ve started your pattern and just finished row 4. But now as I work on the first repeat, I’m not sure if I go through the top loops of the slip stitch or down to the previous stitches.. I have never crocheted over slip stitches before…?????

         
      • wolfcrochet

        January 6, 2010 at 8:37 am

        Yes Jan, you crochet into the loops of the slip stitch. Keep them loose so that you can get your hook in.

         
  4. Sarah C

    January 1, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    The scarf looks lovely! I’m glad you were able to modify the pattern to make it work for you :)

     
    • wolfcrochet

      January 2, 2010 at 5:50 am

      Thanks Sarah! It all comes from having good inspiration!

       
  5. Briana

    January 5, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Thank you for the pattern – I really like how it looks. I too, have started and have just finished the first row of slip stitches. Started the next two rows and I don’t have a nice slip stitch row showing anymore – nothing like your picture above. Any ideas? Also, in doing the first repeat, I now have my sc lining up with the dbls on the previous row and the dbls lining up with the sc. It doesn’t appear to be that way in your pictures. Could it be because I chained 281 instead of 231? I added the additional 50 chains as I wanted it longer. Thanks for your help.

     
    • wolfcrochet

      January 6, 2010 at 5:55 am

      Ok, you are correct that your first line of slip stitches will not show up on the right side. If you turn your fabric over, you will see that they show up on the reverse side. The slip stitches will show up as ridges on the same side every other slip stitch row that you work. This is because they are always the third row after the main pattern rows. Every time you have a third row, it alternates the way it lies on the fabric.

      Here is how the rows should run: Row 1: all scs, row 2: 5 scs, 5 dcs, 5 scs…etc Row 3: 5 scs on top of 5 scs, 5 dcs on top of 5 dcs, 5scs on top of 5 scs…etc
      Row 4: sl st on top of ea st across Row 5: dcs on top of sl sts on top of scs 5 times, scs on top of sl sts on top of dcs 5 times, dcs on top of sl sts on top of scs 5 times…etc. I hope this helps. Making your scarf longer will not effect the pattern as long as you keep the stitches the same. Oh, one note, be sure to count your slip stitches at the ends and beginnings of rows. I noticed that my last slip stitch had a tendency to disappear at the ends of rows. It’s there, it is just very small. This may be what has thrown off your pattern. You can solve this problem by making an extra slip stitch at the end of the row and then ignoring it when you make the turn and work the next row.

       
      • Briana

        January 7, 2010 at 8:41 am

        Thanks for the help. I have done a few more rows and it is looking good! I better hurry – another storm coming our way today thru the weekend.

         
  6. Bonnie

    January 23, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    Hi there,
    I just wanted to say thank you for posting this pattern. I am a new crocheter and it is a pattern that is easy but beautiful. I love it! I am still working on it, I did mine in black yarn, its coming along great and I can’t wait to see it finished!

     
    • wolfcrochet

      January 24, 2010 at 5:38 am

      Bonnie, I’d really like to see a photo of your scarf when you finish it. Working in black is not always easy since it is more difficult to see the individual stitches, especially the slip stitches! But the results will be worth the extra trouble. It will be very elegant.

       
      • Bonnie

        January 25, 2010 at 12:15 am

        I can definately get you a picture… I seem to have ran into a problem, I have not finished the 10 repeats yet but my scarf is already 8.5 inches wide and I really dont want it any wider. I know that I probably gauged wrong, but I used the size I hook Boye brand, with black red heart yarn. What I am wondering is if I don’t finish the 10 repeats will it mess up the hood? Also, I am kind of confused on where to start the hood. Should I fold the scarf in half and start the 32 stitches from the middle corner, or the end corner? I have never crocheted a hooded scarf so I apologise for the newbie questions (I’ve mostly done plain, easy scarf patterns).

         
      • wolfcrochet

        January 25, 2010 at 7:19 am

        No dumb questions, Bonnie. Yes, you can stop any time you like. I agree with you that it’s better not to have the scarf too wide because then the end result is a hood that always falls into your face! And yes, you fold the scarf in half and then sew down from the folded edge until your hood is a long as you want it to be. Alternately, you can actually crochet the two layers together. It’s up to you.

         
  7. Bonnie

    January 24, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    I have not gotten through all 10 repeats yet but my scarf is already 8.5″ wide, I don’t want it to be any wider because I don’t like bulky scarfs. I know that I ovbiously gauged wrong but my question is if I finish off and do the hood will it be an issue? Also I am kind of confused about where to start the hood part because it says the corner… do I fold it in half and start from the center corner? Sorry if this is kind of a dumb question. >.<

     
  8. Bonnie

    January 25, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Sorry about the extra post, the web page didn’t work properly while I posted the first one so I didn’t think it got sent.

     
  9. Bonnie

    January 26, 2010 at 3:43 am

    What I don’t understand is what are the extra 32 scs on the end of the scarf for?

     
    • wolfcrochet

      January 26, 2010 at 5:33 am

      :-) I’m a person who likes to tidy up the ends of my scarves. You can omit those rows if you would rather leave the ends the way they are.

       
  10. Jan Clark

    February 6, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    again thanks….I finished and did it in black and I am in Love with it….I love your site…thanks for sharing

     
    • wolfcrochet

      February 6, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      I’d love to see a photo of it, Jan.

       
  11. Becky

    March 2, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Hello, I have started making this scarf as well, it is very cute! I am at the part where I’m supposed to add the scarf and i’m a little confused as to where I need to attach the hood at.

     
    • wolfcrochet

      March 3, 2010 at 7:00 am

      Becky, you don’t actually attach the hood. You simply fold your scarf in half in the middle. Then from the fold down, you sew the two sides together for about 11″. This will give you your hood.

       
  12. Trischa

    March 3, 2010 at 12:06 am

    this is gorgeous. I’ve been looking for something like this for a few months now, because all the Hooded scarves I find are very plain, but this looks just perfect!!

     
    • wolfcrochet

      March 3, 2010 at 7:16 am

      Thank you, Trischa.

       
  13. Becky

    March 3, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Sorry i’m still confused. The pattern says to stop and reattach string one the right and left sides. I’m just confused as to if i attach the sting to the corner or somewhere in the middle of the scarf.

     
    • wolfcrochet

      March 4, 2010 at 7:55 am

      Okay Becky. I think you are referring to the part where I have you crochet in the pattern across both short ends of the scarf. I like my scarves finished off on the short ends. If you don’t want to put the horizontal rows across the ends of the scarf, just leave them off. Go directly to the part that says “Fold scarf in half” and continue fashioning the hood from there. You aren’t the first person who didn’t want to work the rows across the ends! :-)

       
      • Becky

        March 4, 2010 at 4:43 pm

        OOOO okay I get it now. Thank you very much for you help!

         
      • wolfcrochet

        March 4, 2010 at 5:48 pm

        :-D You’re welcome, Becky.

         
  14. Shayne Scott

    June 16, 2010 at 5:56 am

    Hi, wanted to make this scarf in Moda Vera passion wool, do you think that would be suitable with a size K hook.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      June 16, 2010 at 8:46 am

      Shayne, this yarn looks much thicker than the Bamboo that I was using in the pattern. However, there is no reason that you can’t use it for the scarf. If the scarf becomes too wide, simply work fewer rows until it is the measurement you want. You also might want to omit crocheting across the ends.

       
      • Shayne Scott

        June 17, 2010 at 3:22 am

        Thank you for that, I haven’t crocheted for over 20 years and just getting back into it. Not use to all these novelty wools they have now.

         
  15. aisyah

    July 29, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    I was thrilled to see your websites. I’ve missed those early years when I’ve crochetted my cushions, chair-backs, runners,etc. It was my precious hours of crochetting for the house, daugthers’ dresses ( when they kids) and as gifts to friends. My only mean was through visual and I wasn’t going thro any proper learning. When I come across some types of difficult steps, I often will overcome it with another which allows me to overcome the problem. This is where I really would like to learn some of these patterns which I’ve missed all these years.I really enjoy seeing all your pictures- they are very inspiring and amazing!

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      July 30, 2010 at 4:45 am

      Aishah, I remember those early years too. I made many beautiful things for the home and my family and never took a picture of any of them. I wish I could find them now so that I could add them to my blog! Thank you for writing. I am sure that your projects are lovely after so much practice.

       
  16. Valeria

    November 27, 2010 at 11:58 am

    A question, if you please:

    Can I make the scarf longer? What multiple of stitches did you use?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      November 28, 2010 at 2:43 pm

      Yes Valeria, you can make this scarf longer. You want to end with the single crochet series so you just do (5 sc, 5 dc, 5 sc) as many times as you want to get the length you need.

       
  17. Helen

    December 6, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Thank you so very much for this pattern. I’ve just moved from Texas to Pennsylvania. It is my first hand-made for my winter wardrobe and will be made a couple more times.

    I wasn’t “in love” with the single crochet at the lower edges so I did three repeats of the pattern following your stitch layout.

    After I sewed the hood together, I did a reverse single crochet (crab stitch) around the entire edge. I like the extra stability.

    Thanks again.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 7, 2010 at 9:06 am

      Sounds like you had a great idea Helen. I always welcome the ways that expert crocheters like yourself adapt my patterns and make them even better!

       
      • Helen

        December 7, 2010 at 11:45 am

        Oops, I should have said single repeat of the pattern at the lower edge.

        When I was just about done the second end, I realized that I’d like the look of the slip stitch at the lower edge and will try that on the next one to give a little more texture to the ends.

        I also crochet for Project Linus and this that this would make a great baby blanket pattern – about 40″. I’ve thought about doing it scrappy with the slip stitch in a constant color throughout to tie it together.

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        December 7, 2010 at 5:27 pm

        Great idea about the baby blanket Helen. My mother-in-law makes blankets for Project Linus and contributes 8 per month! She’s amazing at 88 years old.

         
  18. lunarfaith

    December 25, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Really nice pattern – would love to hook it ~

    Thanks a lot =)

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 26, 2010 at 8:59 am

      Thanks! Happy holidays to you!

       
  19. scrappysue

    August 9, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    hello there! where the pattern says: “On right side, attach yarn at one corner and work across rows, placing 32 sc across end of scarf. Ch 1, turn.
    Row 2: Sc in first 7 sts, dc in next 6 sts, * sc in next 6 sts, dc in next 6 sts*, work from * to * to last 7 sts. sc in last 7 sts, ch 1, turn.
    Row 3: Repeat row 2. Fasten off.” – i’m not sure for which part of the scarf this means. are we working across the depth (short side) of the scarf to create a cuff on the hood? i find it very hard to visualise how it will turn out, hence my confusion! any help appreciated. many thanks

     
  20. scrappysue

    August 9, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    ok, i should have read the comments first! the row on the short ends of the scarf is just for ‘finishing’, yes?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 9, 2011 at 6:54 pm

      Yes Sue. You can omit this step if you like. I just like a finished look on the ends but other folks have stated that these rows are unnecessary.

       
  21. JeanLewis

    October 26, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    I really like the Bamboo Hooded Scarf pattern but am confused about the “slip stitch”. After slipping the stitch to the other needle, do I pass the previous stitch over? Please explain.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      October 26, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      Jean, if you don’t know how to make a slip stitch in crochet, here is a link for a video that shows the method. You do not skip any stitches, just put the hook through the stitch, yarn over hook, pull yarn through stitch and loop on hook. Remember, this is a crochet pattern and you only use one hook.

       
  22. Sue Merritt

    December 3, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    GREAT pattern … as are all. I can’t wait to steal some time and get crocheting! Thanks for sharing your talents!
    Sue

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 5, 2011 at 9:43 am

      Thanks Sue! This has been very popular for a couple of years now. Wish you luck with stealing the time!

       
  23. Sharon

    December 4, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Hello,
    I have just started the scarf and am going from row 2 to row 3. Directions say to chain 3 and then dc in next 4. If I do this, I will have 5 dc, but they will not match up with the dc directly under them. I still have a dc left from previous row. Should I add another dc?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 5, 2011 at 9:42 am

      Sharon, I believe the instructions say to chain 2 and then double crochet into the next 4 stitches. The chain 2 is your first double crochet. You will always have 5 double crochet in the series. You should not have 6 double crochet at the end of your previous row! When you place a double crochet over a double crochet, your stitches will be slightly off-set. This is the nature of crochet and is normal. Just work as the instructions direct and I am sure you will see that everything will be fine. :-)

       
  24. Jennifer

    January 4, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    Beautiful pattern. Exactly what I was looking for. I have some bamboo yarn I got on clearance for $1 a sken and was just waiting for something to make with it. My only concern is if it will be warm enough. Thanks for posting the pattern.

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 6, 2012 at 6:33 am

      Thanks Jennifer. Mine is very warm and does not itch!

       
  25. Patricia Conlin

    August 18, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    I LOVE your Q&A with questions and the answers right below. I hate the ones that don’t answer. Thank you so much for this consideration. I have signed up for your emails and saved your website. Patricia

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 20, 2012 at 8:07 am

      Thanks Patricia! I agree with you that it is important for bloggers to answer their comments. It is the best way to stay in touch with all the friends you make on-line. I hope you will comment here often!

       
  26. Judy

    August 25, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    tried to print out the pattern but to no avail. Only came up with the picture or page one the pattern would not print. WHY ??
    troublejj122@centurylink.net

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 25, 2012 at 2:33 pm

      Judy, are you out of ink? I didn’t have a problem printing it. But just in case, tomorrow I will convert this pattern to a pdf and replace it in the post. Can you wait until then?

       
  27. Michelle Swartz

    August 29, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    Love the pattern. But shouldn’t you start and end a row with either both single crotchets or double crotchets? Did I chain wrong in my foundation chain? It is begin with CH 231- rather than 236 which would even up the ends, isn’t it?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      August 30, 2012 at 4:30 am

      Hi Michelle, Thanks for writing! I designed this scarf to have the rows end with the opposite stitch. It makes no difference in the width of the short ends of the scarf because the corrosponding stitches in the next row are shorter or longer, whichever the case may be. Since you noticed this difference and seem to like a symmetrical look, you can do exactly as you say: chain 236 and add those extra 5 stitches. Crochet patterns are meant to be changed, altered, and adjusted in any way that you prefer. That’s the designer coming out in you!

       
      • Michelle Swartz

        August 30, 2012 at 8:44 am

        Thanks so much for replying! I guess it’s kind of like you wanting the stripes on the tails going the other way- I like even too! Lol. Thanks again. I love the pattern!

         
  28. Nancy

    December 15, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I really love this pattern and would love to make it but I can’t get it to print. It will print the name of the pattern and all the comments but not the pattern. Do I need to do something special to get the pattern to print. Thank you. Nancy

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 16, 2012 at 12:00 pm

      Nancy, you aren’t the first one to mention this but I don’t know what the problem is. Other people can print it. I’ll try to send it to you via e-mail.

       
      • Nancy

        December 16, 2012 at 2:56 pm

        Thank you very much, I appreciate it.

         
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 16, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      If the email did not work, let me know and I will make a pdf to send to you.

       
      • Nancy

        December 21, 2012 at 1:36 am

        I did not receive the email of the pattern. I’m not sure if you didn’t have a chance to send it to me or if it just didn’t work form me. I really love that pattern or I wouldn’t bother you. Thank you for all your time and trouble. Nancy

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        December 21, 2012 at 11:56 am

        Oh Nancy, I’m sorry! I sent it but it must not have worked out in the conversion. I’ve gone ahead and made the pattern onto a pdf file. You will find it here: http://wolfcrochet.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/bamboo-hooded-scarf.pdf

         
      • Nancy

        December 21, 2012 at 6:27 pm

        Thank you for taking the time to do this for me. I have the perfect yarn for it. I plan to make one for my mother in law and myself tonight. It is really very pretty and exactly what I’ve been looking for. I love all the patterns on your site and can’t figure out why they won’t print for me. I plan to get my husband to figure it out and hopefully fix it after the holidays. Merry Christmas and Happy New Years to you and your family. Nancy

        T-Mobile. America’s First Nationwide 4G Network

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        December 22, 2012 at 5:45 am

        Nancy, after the holidays I’ll look at all the patterns that are not pdf and convert them. I should have done this long ago. So just give me a little time and you’ll be able to print all of them! Have a great Christmas!

         
      • Nancy

        December 22, 2012 at 8:31 am

        Thank you. Out have some lovely patterns that I would like to make. I look forward to printing them and getting started. Happy holidays.

        T-Mobile. America’s First Nationwide 4G Network

         
  29. Erin

    December 18, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    With the ten repeats…does that make it eleven “total” repeats counting the first time through?

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      December 18, 2012 at 8:06 pm

      Yes Erin, that is correct.

       
      • Erin

        December 18, 2012 at 9:26 pm

        Thanks…just about done! I’m making it as a Christmas gift for a woman who volunteers at my sons school. :) I love the pattern…beautiful.

         
      • Wolf Crochet

        December 19, 2012 at 9:43 am

        I’m glad that this pattern is working for you Erin. I really like the raised texture of the slip stitch rows. They are a bit of a pain but quite worth it.

         
  30. Della

    January 20, 2014 at 1:19 am

    I ca n /t figure where to start the hood . What corner Where on the scarf
    DellaBarczyk@Gmail.com

     
    • Wolf Crochet

      January 20, 2014 at 5:18 am

      Della, fold the scarf in half, crosswise, right sides facing each other. In one corner, at the fold, begin whip- stitching until you have stitched 11″. Fasten off and weave in ends. Turn right side out and you are done! :-)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,981 other followers

